Menu
The best of world music

Constantinople and Ablaye Cissoko

Biography :

At the crossroads of genres and eras may be found the Constantinople trio. Of course, the former Turkish capital, spanning East and West, is an inspiration for the Montréal-based group. But the very idea of blending is what the group embodies to perfection.

 

After 20 years on the road and nearly as many albums, the group, formed in 1998, continues its musical explorations. Iranian founder Kiya Tabassian accompanies himself on the setar (“three strings” in Persian). His vocals blend elegantly with the percussions of his brother, Ziya Tabassian (replaced more recently by Montréal percussionist Patrick Graham) and the viola da gamba (an ancestor of the cello) of Pierre-Yves Martel.

 

The Tabassian brothers arrived in Québec as teenagers but never forgot their training in Persian music. Their Oriental phrasing is interwoven with the kora of Senegalese griot Ablaye Cissoko, with whom they have presented more than 100 concerts and recorded two albums, Jardins migrateurs (2015) and Traversées (2019).

 

The fusion between the mysticism of the African desert and the poets of the former Persian empires comes across as natural. Based in Saint-Louis, a pretty colonial city located on the shores of the Senegal River, known for its abundance of fish, Ablaye Cissoko is a direct heir to Mandinka griots. He began playing the kora at age 8 and soon brought in outside musical influences, participating in the Festival international de Jazz de Saint-Louis. Since 1986, he has travelled around the world to pursue various collaborations, in particular with New York-based German trumpeter Volker Goetze and his own Senegalese ensemble, Corda Ba.

 

Together, the four musicians delicately bring together the melodies and inspiration of East and West, of Africa and Europe, in a breathtakingly beautiful show.

Constantinople and Ablaye Cissoko
Sénégal - Iran - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
World music
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Constantinople et Ablaye Cissoko

À la croisée des chemins, des genres et des époques, vous trouverez le trio Constantinople. Bien sûr, l’ancienne capitale turque, assise entre Orient et Occident, est une inspiration pour le groupe montréalais. Mais c’est l’idée même du métissage que le groupe incarne à merveille.

Après 20 ans sur la route et presqu’autant d’albums, le groupe fondé en 1998 à Montréal poursuit ses explorations musicales. Le fondateur iranien Kiya Tabassian s’accompagne au setâr (“3 cordes” en persan) ; son chant se mêle élégamment aux percussions de l’artiste montréalais Patrick Graham et à la viole de gambe (ancêtre du violoncelle) de Pierre-Yves Martel.

Kiya Tabassian est arrivé au Québec encore adolescent, mais n’a jamais oublié sa formation en musique persane. Ses phrasés orientaux s’entrelacent avec la kora du griot sénégalais Ablaye Cissoko, avec qui il a déjà présenté plus de 100 concerts et enregistré deux albums : “Jardins migrateurs” (2015) et “Traversées” (2019).

La fusion entre les mystiques du désert africain et les poètes des anciens empires persans est assez naturelle. Basé à Saint-Louis, jolie ville coloniale située sur les bords du poissonneux fleuve Sénégal, Ablaye Cissoko est un héritier direct des griots mandingues. Il commence à jouer de la kora à 8 ans et intègre rapidement les influences musicales extérieures en participant au Festival international de Jazz de Saint-Louis. Depuis 1986, il parcourt le monde au gré des collaborations, notamment avec le trompettiste allemand basé à New York, Volker Goetze, et son ensemble sénégalais “Corda Ba”.

Ensemble, les quatre musiciens unissent avec délicatesse les mélodies et le souffle de l’Orient et de l’Occident, de l’Afrique et de l’Europe dans un spectacle d’une beauté à couper le souffle.

 

Constantinople et Ablaye Cissoko
Sénégal - Iran - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Musique du monde
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !