Menu
The best of world music

Adama Daou

Biography :

A musician of Malian descent, Adama Daou began his practice of African percussions (djembe, dumdum, calabash and balafon) as a child taking part in traditional ceremonies.
In 2000, Adama settled in Paris and toured extensively in France and across Europe with groups including Lo’jo, Zenzile, Adama Yalomba, Maré Sanogo and Yéléna. He performed at festivals that included Printemps de Bourges, Solidays, Musique du Bout du Monde, Africolor, Africajarc, Festival d’Avignon, Festival de Jazz à Montreux and Châlons-sur-Saône. During this time, he also had the opportunity to perform opening acts for Manu Dibango, Guem, Youri Buenaventura and Habib Koite.

 

In addition to touring in Europe, Canada and the United States, Adama regularly held courses and internships in African percussions and dance. With his training in guidance of leisure activities for young people, he also served as a monitor at schools and as a socio-cultural worker among juvenile delinquents.

 

Living in Montréal since 2011, Adama Daou is driven by a desire to help the public discover Malian percussions, creating musical projects with artists from various backgrounds, developing percussion training workshops and helping develop socio-cultural activities around music.

Adama Daou
Mali - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Percussions africaines
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Adama Daou

Biographie :

Musicien d’originie malienne, Adama Daou a développé sa pratique des percussions africaines (djembe, dumdum, calebasse et balafon) dès l’enfance, alors qu’il participait à des cérémonies traditionnelles.
En 2000, Adama s’installe à Paris et multiplie des concerts et tournées en France et en Europe avec des groupes tels que Lo’jo, Zenzile, Adama Yalomba, Maré Sanogo, Yéléna… Il se produit, entre autres, lors des festivals du Printemps de Bourges, Solidays, Musique du Bout du Monde, Africolor, Africajarc, Festival d’Avignon, Festival de Jazz à Montreux, Châlons-sur-Saône etc. Durant cette période, il a aussi l’occasion de jouer en première partie de Manu Dibango, Guem, Youri Buenaventura et Habib Koite.
Parallèlement à des tournées en Europe, au Canada et aux États-Unis, Adama anime régulièrement des cours et stages de percussions et de danses africaines. Fort d’une formation en animation de loisirs pour les jeunes, il intervient aussi régulièrement comme moniteur dans des écoles et intervenant socioculturel auprès de jeunes délinquants.

Installé à Montréal depuis 2011, Adama Daou est sans cesse guidé par une forte volonté de faire découvrir les percussions maliennes au public, en créant des projets musicaux avec des artistes de différents horizons, en développant des ateliers de formation aux percussions et en participant à l’élaboration d’actions socioculturelles autour de la musique.

Adama Daou
Mali - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Percussions africaines

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !