Menu
The best of world music

Banlieuz Art, Degg J Force 3 and King Alasko

Biography :

 

The Montréal audience is conveyed to Guinea in the course of an outstanding evening with the best of Guinean urban music. Four groups will be sharing the stage to get the crowd dancing, just like a Saturday night at a club in Conakry.

 

The pioneers of African hip-hop, Degg J Force 3, will join the pop duo Banlieuz’art, with which they recorded the single “Gbin Gbin Soo” (The Backup) in 2015 to support the national football team during the Africa Cup of Nations.

 

Degg J Force 3, the group created in 1997 by brothers Moussa and Ablaye M’Baye, is a multiple award-winner. Emerging from Boulbinet, Conakry’s port area, they set up their own record label, production house and recording studio. In Wolof, Degg J Force 3 refers to the three forces they seek to defend : the right, the good and the true.

 

Banlieuz’art, another of the evening’s headliners, serves as a mentor to pop fans. The two thirty-somethings hardly come across as suburbanites (“banlieue” is French for suburb) : Konko Malela is an ambassador’s son, and King Salaman is the son of a farmer. But their success is due precisely to this complementarity. They fill the Conakry stadium while adding yet more collaborations with other artists from the African continent.

 

These bands, garnering receipts from their hits over the last dozen years, urge young Guineans to stay in their country rather than risk their lives crossing the Mediterranean, a message publicized with outlays of hundreds of thousands of euros by the European Union though the International Organization for Migration.

 

The M’baye brothers join words and deeds to provide an opportunity to new talents. Through their label “Meurs Libre Prod”, they serve as producers to King Alasko, revelation of the Guinea Music Awards, currently recording his first album.

Banlieuz Art, Degg J Force 3, King Alasko and Tamsir
Guinée
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Banlieuz Art, Degg J Force 3 et King Alasko

Biographie :

 

Le public montréalais se transporte en Guinée le temps d’une soirée exceptionnelle avec le meilleur de la musique urbaine guinéenne. 4 groupes vont partager la scène pour faire danser les foules, comme un samedi soir dans un club de Conakry.

Les pionniers du hip hop africain, Degg J Force 3, se joindront au duo pop Banlieuz’art, avec qui ils avaient enregistré en 2015 le single “Gbin Gbin Soo” (Le Renfort) pour soutenir l’équipe nationale de football lors de la Coupe d’Afrique des Nations.

 

Degg J Force 3, le groupe des frères Moussa et Ablaye M’Baye, a remporté de nombreux prix depuis sa création en 1997. Originaires de Boulbinet, la zone portuaire de Conakry, ils ont monté leur propre label, leur maison de production et un studio d’enregistrement. En wolof, Degg J Force 3 se réfère aux trois forces qu’ils veulent défendre : le juste, le bon et le vrai.

 

Banlieuz’art, autre tête d’affiche de la soirée, fait figure de mentor pour les amateurs de pop. Les deux trentenaires n’ont rien de banlieusards : Konko Malela est fils d’ambassadeur, et King Salaman, fils de cultivateur. Mais leur succès est justement le résultat de cette complémentarité. Ils remplissent le stade de Conakry, tout en multipliant les collaborations avec d’autres artistes du continent africain.

Ces deux formations, qui engrangent les recettes de leurs tubes depuis une douzaine d’années, incitent les jeunes Guinéens à rester au pays au lieu de risquer leurs vies en traversant la Méditerranée, un message promu à coup de centaines de milliers d’euros par l’Union européenne via l’Organisation Internationale pour les Migrations (OIM).

Les frères M’baye joignent l’acte à la parole pour donner une chance aux nouveaux talents. Via leur label “Meurs Libre Prod”, ils produisent King Alasko, révélation des Guinée Music Awards, qui enregistre actuellement son premier album.

Banlieuz Art, Degg J Force 3, King Alasko and Tamsir
Guinée
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !