Menu
The best of world music

Bazurto All Stars

Biography :

 

The very festive Bazurto All Stars got started in the bars of the seaside city of Cartagena, Colombia. At the demand of tourists who wished to hear Caribbean music, the group introduced more African sounds in its compositions and moved toward champeta, a very energetic style from the coastal region.
In its early days, the group did not really have a name, until the day in 2009 when the owner of a bar near the Bazurto market suggested that they take the name of the market, a colourful musical epicentre of Caribbean traditions. Thus were born the Bazurto All Stars, inspired by the joyful, energetic ambiance of the working-class districts of Cartagena and taking up the African beats of Congolese soukous.

 

Although they are now great representatives of champeta, the seven musicians in the collective found their musical inspiration in very different genres, from American hip-hop to Colombian vallenato and including reggae and rock. They even found a specific name for their blend of Caribbean and African beats: champeta muffin.
Bazurto’s seven members – Aníbal Hernández (guitarist and leader), Fredy Harel (lead vocalist), Jason Guerrero, known as “Fromx” (rap singer), Pierre Magallanes, known as “El Negro” (drummer), David Ruíz, known as “Calilla” (saxophonist), Lucho Hernández (bass player) and Nando Ávila (percussionist) – are recognized as stage animals who immediately instil a party atmosphere in the audience.

 

Their career took off in 2015 with the success of their hit “El Bololó,” a retake of the track “État major” by the Congolese group Extra Musica, followed directly by another hit, “La Pupileta,” chosen as the official music of the Barranquilla carnival in 2016.
It was also in 2016 that they won their first prestigious Congo de Oro award from the Barranquilla carnival, regarded as one of the world’s greatest. Immediately adopted by the carnival city, their track “Vacílatela con Fefi” was the carnival queen’s official theme in 2017.
They again won the Congo de Oro in 2018 and 2019, and they toured in Europe and the United States with soukous groups, in particular the Soukous All Stars and the legendary Zairian group Zaïko Langa Langa, with which they shared the stage in the famous New York club SOB’s in January 2019. They were even invited to Zaïko Langa Langa’s 50th anniversary festivities in Kinshasa.

 

Bazurto All Stars launched the track “Coroné” in April 2019 with the famous vallenato singer Felipe Peláez, a new hit in the making, and they prepared to conduct a major tour in Europe and North America, with their first appearance in Canada.

Bazurto All Stars
Colombie
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Champeta
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Bazurto All Stars

Biographie :

Le très festif groupe Bazurto All Stars a débuté dans les bars de la ville côtière de Cartagena, en Colombie. À la demande des touristes qui voulaient écouter de la musique des Caraïbes, le groupe a commencé à introduire des sons plus africains dans ses compositions et s’est orienté vers la champeta, un style très énergique de la région littorale.
À ses débuts, la formation originaire de Cartagena n’avait pas vraiment de nom. Jusqu’au jour en 2009 où le propriétaire d’un bar proche du marché Bazurto a suggéré qu’ils se baptisent comme le marché, qui est un épicentre musical et coloré des traditions caribéennes. Ainsi est né Bazurto All Stars, qui s’inspire de l’atmosphère joyeuse et énergique des quartiers populaires de Cartagena et reprend les rythmes africains du soukous congolais.

 

Bien qu’ils soient aujourd’hui les grands représentants de la champeta, les sept musiciens du collectif trouvent leur inspiration musicale dans des genres bien différents, depuis le hip hop américain jusqu’au vallenato colombien, en passant par le reggae et le rock. En fait, ils ont même trouvé un nom spécifique pour leur mélange de rythmes caribéens et africains : la “champeta muffin”.

 

Les sept membres du Bazurto – Aníbal Hernández (guitariste et leader), Fredy Harel (chanteur principal), Jason Guerrero, dit “Fromx” (chanteur rap), Pierre Magallanes, dit “El Negro” (batteur), David Ruíz, dit “Calilla” (saxophoniste), Lucho Hernández (bassiste) et Nando Ávila (percussionniste) – sont reconnus comme des bêtes de scène qui mettent immédiatement une ambiance de fête dans le public.

 

Leur carrière a décollé en 2015 avec le succès de leur tube “El Bololó”, une reprise du titre “Etat major” du groupe congolais Extra Musica, directement suivi d’un autre hit, “La Pupileta”, couronnée musique officielle du Carnaval de Barranquilla en 2016.

 

C’est également en 2016 qu’ils ont remporté leur premier prestigieux prix Congo d’or du Carnaval de Barranquilla, considéré comme l’un des plus importants au monde. Immédiatement adoptés par la ville du carnaval, leur titre “Vacílatela con Fefi” est le thème officiel pour la Reine du Carnaval en 2017.
Ils remportent à nouveau le Congo d’or en 2018 et 2019 et tournent en Europe et aux États-Unis avec des groupes de soukous, notamment le Soukous All Stars et le légendaire groupe zaïrois Zaïko Langa Langa, avec qui ils partagent la scène dans le fameux club new-yorkais SOB’S en janvier 2019. Ils sont même invités aux festivités du 50ème anniversaire de Zaïko Langa Langa à Kinshasa.

 

Bazurto All Stars lance un avril 2019 le titre “Coroné” avec le célèbre chanteur de vallenato Felipe Peláez, un nouveau hit en perspective, et se prépare à effectuer une grande tournée en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, avec sa première apparition au Canada.

Bazurto All Stars
Colombie
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Champeta
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !