Menu
The best of world music

Bénin International Musical

Biography :

 

Benin International Musical (BIM) is a project initiated by the French public radio service, Radio France, which was seeking to create artistic cooperation links with Africa. The aim was to make the music of Benin better known and to highlight voodoo culture.

 

Voodoo was a victim of clichés and was demonized by colonists, but its heritage is highly positive, says Hervé Riesen, assistant director of radio networks and programs at Radio France and producer of the BIM project. Benin, known historically as the former kingdom of Dahomey, is home to voodoo convents where the instruments and rhythms that gave birth indirectly to current musical forms (blues, jazz, rock and rap) were invented, he notes. Voodoo also brings a spirit of unity and cohesion that has enabled Benin to steer clear of fundamentalist excesses and to remain peaceful, in particular by giving women a special place.

 

To revive the melodies of the ancient peoples of Dahomey, Hervé Riesen joined forces with French composer and producer Jérôme Ettinger, who had supported a similar project in Egypt, and with Beninese producer Aristide Agondanou, a former member of the Gangbé Brass Band. From voodoo convents to evangelical churches and to clubs in Cotonou, they scoured Benin to put together a collective of musicians representative of the new musical generation. After several months of auditions in 2016, they recruited musicians and vocalists from backgrounds in gospel as well as in hip-hop and traditional song, together with a bass, drum and percussion rhythm section.

 

The seven members of BIM (Emile Totin, Lionel, Yêwhe Yeton, Yaovi, Jimmy Belah, Nayel Haxo and Brigitte Kiti) have received the support of the Institut français in Cotonou, which provided them with space for two years to record their first album, BIM#1, released early in 2019. The nine tracks allow the listener to step backwards and follow the route of the slaves from where the original blues arrived. In a musical journey from Ouidah, the main port in the slave trade in the 19th century, to the cotton fields of the American South, voodoo rhythms, traditional songs and electric melodies are blended in a global music approach, consisting of an explosive mix of Afrobeat, trip-hop, rock and electro, crossed with swing and melodic gospel accents.

 

After performing in Europe and the United States, BIM continues its summer tour in Canada before playing at New York’s Carnegie Hall in October.

Bénin International Musical
Bénin
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Trip-hop, pop-rock, électro
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Bénin International Musical

Biographie :

Le Bénin International Musical (BIM) est un projet initié par le réseau public de radio française, Radio France, qui souhaite créer des liens de coopération artistique avec l’Afrique. L’objectif est de mieux faire connaître la musique du Bénin et de valoriser la culture vaudou.

 

Le vaudou (ou vodoun) a été victime de clichés et diabolisé par les colons alors que son héritage est extrêmement positif, explique Hervé Riesen, directeur adjoint des antennes et des programmes de Radio France et producteur du projet BIM. Au Bénin, connu historiquement comme l’ancien royaume du Dahomey, existent des couvents vaudous où ont été inventés les instruments et les rythmes qui ont indirectement donné naissance aux musiques actuelles (blues, jazz, rock, rap), dit-il. Le vodoun apporte également un esprit d’unité et de cohésion qui a permis au Bénin de se tenir à l’écart des dérives fondamentalistes et de rester en paix, notamment en accordant une place de choix aux femmes.

 

Pour raviver les mélodies des peuples anciens du Dahomey, Hervé Riesen s’est associé au compositeur et producteur français Jérôme Ettinger qui avait déjà soutenu un projet similaire en Egypte et au producteur béninois Aristide Agondanou, ancien membre des ’’Gangbé brass band’’. De couvents vaudous en églises évangéliques, en passant par les clubs de Cotonou, ils ont écumé le Bénin afin de monter un collectif de musiciens représentatif de la relève musicale. Après plusieurs mois d’auditions en 2016, ils ont recruté des musiciens-vocalistes venus de tous les horizons gospel, mais aussi hip-hop et chanson traditionnelle, ainsi qu’une section rythmique basse, batterie, percussions.

 

Les sept membres de BIM (Emile Totin, Lionel, Yêwhe Yeton, Yaovi, Jimmy Belah, Nayel Haxo et Brigitte Kiti) ont bénéficié du soutien de l’Institut français de Cotonou, qui leur a cédé un espace pour enregistrer pendant deux ans leur premier album, BIM#1, lancé début 2019. Les neuf titres permettent de suivre à rebours la route des esclaves d’où le blues originel est arrivé. Dans un voyage musical allant de Ouidah, principal port de la traite négrière au XIXe siècle, aux champs de cotons de l’Amérique sudiste, les rythmes vaudous, chants traditionnels et mélodies électriques sont fusionnés dans une approche “globale music”, composée d’un mélange détonnant d’afrobeat, trip-hop, rock, électro, mâtiné de swing et des accents mélodiques gospel.

 

Après s’être produits en Europe et aux États-Unis, le BIM poursuit sa tournée estivale au Canada avant de jouer sur la scène du Carnegie Hall à New York en octobre prochain.

Bénin International Musical
Bénin
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Trip-hop, pop-rock, électro
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !