Menu
The best of world music

Benkadi

Biography :

The traditional arts group Benkadi, meaning “strength through unity” in the Mandinka language, emerged in 2011 as artists from Guinea, Senegal, Haiti, Cameroon, Burkina Faso, France, Mexico and Canada joined forces.

 

Presenting various disciplines including dance, song and percussions, the group has as its keystone a love for Guinean culture and a desire to promote its traditions worldwide. During its performances, Benkadi offers spectators art forms including dance, song, traditional music and acrobatics, enabling them to experience Guinean folklore.

 

Recognized as purely traditional (ambassadors of the culture of the Hamana and Sankaran districts), Benkadi stands out as one of the few arts groups, if not the only one, to present the Konden mask from the Hamana region. The group occasionally sports the Kawa mask from Upper Guinea or the Tassaba mask from Hamana. Benkadi also presents the dance of the warriors, with wooden rifles, portraying hunters returning to the village, and the Doundounba dance, with strong men dancing to glorify masculine strength.

 

Benkadi’s enchanting rhythms are composed of arrangements of djembés, kora, doundouns, balafon, gongoma, krin, bolon and castanets. In just its second year of existence, in 2012, Benkadi and its exhilarating beats won the Syli de bronze in conjunction with the Festival Nuits d’Afrique in Montreal.
With performances at many festivals including African Sound Fest Montreal (2014), La nuit de Makossa (2014) in a Petit-Pays preview, the Muhtadi Festival in Toronto (2013), the Festival des traditions du monde in Sherbrooke (2013) and the Nuit du Saba (Montreal 2013), Benkadi pursues its rise with the aim of disseminating the riches of traditional Guinean culture.

Benkadi
Guinée - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
African percussion

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Benkadi

Biographie :

Le Groupe artistique traditionnel Benkadi, qui signifie «l’union fait la force» en langue malinké, a pris naissance en 2011 par l’union de talentueux artistes venus de la Guinée, du Sénégal, d’Haïti, du Cameroun, du Burkina Faso, de la France, du Mexique et du Canada.
Présentant plusieurs disciplines telles la danse, le chant et les percussions, le groupe a pour fondement leur amour pour la culture guinéenne et leur désir d’en promouvoir ses traditions partout à travers le monde. Lors de ses prestation, Benkadi offre aux spectateurs plusieurs formes d’art telles la danse, le chant, la musique traditionnelle et l’acrobatie, pour faire vivre l’expérience du folklore guinéen.
Reconnu pour être purement traditionnel (ambassadeurs de la culture des arrondissements de l’Hamana et de Sankaran), Benkadi se démarque pour être un des rares, si non le seul groupe artistique à présenter le «Masque Konden» de la région de Hamana. Le groupe arbore sporadiquement le «Masque Kawa» de Haute-Guinée et le «Masque Tassaba» de Hamana. Benkadi offre de plus la danse des guerriers, dansée avec des fusils de bois, et qui représente le retour des chasseurs au village et la danse Doun doun Ba ou danse des hommes forts, qui glorifie la force masculine.
Les rythmes envoûtants de Benkadi sont composés d’arrangements de djembés, cora, doundouns, balafon, gongoma, krin, bolon et cascagnettes.
Dès leur 2e année d’existence en 2012, Benkadi et leurs rythmes enivrants remportaient le Syli de bronze au Festival Nuits d’Afrique de Montréal.
Suite à des performances lors de nombreux festivals tels African Soundfest Montréal (2014), La nuit de Makossa (2014), en avant-première de Petit-Pays, le Festival Muh Tadi de Toronto (2013), le Festival tradition de Sherbrooke (2013) et La Nuit du Saba (Montréal 2013), Benkadi poursuit son ascension ayant à coeur de diffuser les richesses de la culture traditionnelle guinéenne.
Benkadi
Guinée - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Percussions africaines

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !