Menu
The best of world music

Bumaranga

Biography :

 

“Bumaranga” is a word that African slaves brought to Colombia, used to designate certain musical groups. It was natural for Juan Sebastian Quiros to select this name to designate this Afro-Colombia musical fusion project.

 

Bumaranga is a project offering a blend of typical Colombia flutes and percussions with a modern touch provided by electric instruments. The result is a fusion of sounds from the roots of Afro-Colombian music and its essence, along with the African and indigenous influence marked by penetrating and highly rhythmic beats. The result is a rich musical style with authentic sounds: the captivating beats provided by traditional drums such as the tambora and the alegre drum truly stand out, encouraging dancing and sharing in a festive atmosphere.

 

With beats such as cumbia, puya, tambora and mapalé, each show by Bumaranga is an invitation to discover and appreciate the musical flavours of Colombia mixed with new trends.
Bumaranga is working to safeguard and disseminate Afro-Colombian music in Canada. It aims to share the cultural wealth of Afro-hybrid music born in South America, contributing to musical diversity in Canada.

 

The group won the 2013 Syli d’Or of world music, the CIBL Radio award, a Coup de cœur award from the Francofolies festival in the 2013 Vision Diversité hybrid music showcase and a 2013 Vivacité Montréal bursary issued by the Conseil des Arts et Lettres du Québec to work on its first album, called Cumbia Electrizante.
The group is currently working on new pieces to be added to its second production.

Bumaranga
Colombie - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Musique afro-colombienne, cumbia
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Bumaranga

Biographie :

«Bumaranga», un mot que les esclaves africains emmenés en Colombie utilisaient pour désigner certaines formations musicales. C’est naturellement que Juan Sebastian Quiros a sélectionné ce nom pour désigner son projet fusion de musique afro-colombienne.

 

Bumaranga est un projet qui propose un mélange de percussions et flûtes typiquement colombiennes avec une touche moderne apportée par des instruments électriques. Le résultat donne une fusion de sonorités provenant des racines de la musique afro-colombienne et son essence ainsi que l’influence africaine et indigène marquée par les rythmes pénétrants et très cadencés. En découle une musique riche avec des sonorités authentiques où se démarquent les attrayantes rythmiques qu’offrent les tambours traditionnels comme la “tambora” et le tambour “alegre” qui invitent à danser et à partager dans une ambiance festive.

 

Avec des rythmes comme ceux de la Cumbia, la Puya, la Tambora et le Mapalé, chaque présentation du groupe Bumaranga est une invitation faite à découvrir et à apprécier les saveurs musicales de la Colombie mélangés avec les nouvelles tendances.

 

Bumaranga effectue un travail de sauvegarde et de diffusion de la musique afro-colombienne au Canada. Il entend partager la richesse culturelle de la musique Afro-métisse née en Amérique du sud en contribuant à la diversité musicale du Canada.

 

Le groupe a remporté le prix les Syli d’Or 2013, le prix Radio Cibl et Coup de Cœur du Festival Francofolies dans la vitrine des musiques métissées de Vision Diversité du 2013, ainsi que la bourse Vivacité Montréal 2013 octroyée pour le Conseil des Arts et Lettres du Québec, pour travailler son premier album, nommé “Cumbia Electrizante”.

 

Présentement le groupe travaille sur des nouvelles pièces que s’ajouteront à sa deuxième production.

Bumaranga
Colombie - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Musique afro-colombienne, cumbia
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !