Menu
The best of world music

Carlos Placeres

Biography :

 

The recipient of a Latin Awards Canada trophy in 2016 and a Félix award in 2010, Carlos Placeres clearly sets the tone for Cuban music in Québec. A singer-songwriter for 30 years, he performed in Vancouver in 2010, representing Québec at the Olympic Winter Games, and has performed opening acts for some of the top Cuban artists.
Self-taught, he learned to play the guitar at age 10 while growing up in the suburbs of Havana, and then learned piano, percussions and bass. A versatile artist, he draws inspiration from ancient African rhythms and from modern jazz. In addition to the very popular Cuban salsa, he masters more traditional genres: trova, bolero and son. And he gets people dancing with his music, conveyed on a positive wave.

 

With his keen interest in ethnomusicology, he settled in Montréal in 1996 and conducted research at the Université de Montréal on the Arab-Andalusian origins of Cuban music. This work gave rise in 2003 to his first album, A Los Ancestros, nominated for a Félix award in the “best world music album” category. As an ethnomusicologist, he gave a series of talks and shows on the African, Arab-Andalusian and European roots of Cuban music and on the influence of modern jazz and funk genres.

 

As an independent artist, he created the album Puro Café (2010), winner of a Félix award, and later Fiesta de Placeres (2016), which won a Latin Awards Canada trophy. Television viewers in Québec have undoubtedly heard his music when watching the series “Omertà, la loi du silence,” for which he composed the soundtrack with former Uzeb member Michel Cusson. He was also chosen by the audience of the musical show “Belle et Bum” as best artist.

 

Carlos Placeres (whose surname means “pleasures” in Spanish) believes in the therapeutic values of music and dance, and he performs regularly at hospitals as an active member of the Société des arts en milieu de santé, an organization that presents concerts at health care institutions. A regular at the Montréal Jazz Festival and at the Francofolies de Montréal, he has performed opening acts at the shows of Cuban artists such as Omara Portuondo and the Afro Cuban All Stars as well as for Pink Martini.
This Cuban-Canadian artist, currently preparing his fourth album in Cuba, sustains the Afro-Cuban flame and its musical traditions in Canada, paying tribute to all his ancestors in shows that put us back on our feet. As one of his songs says, music is medicine for the soul.

Carlos Placeres
Cuba - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Cuban music

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Carlos Placeres

Biographie :

 

àRécipiendaire d’un Latinos Awards Canada en 2016 et d’un Prix Félix en 2010, Carlos Placeres est sans conteste la référence de la musique cubaine au Québec. Auteur, compositeur et interprète depuis 30 ans, il a joué à Vancouver en 2010 pour représenter le Québec aux Jeux Olympiques et fait la première partie des plus importants artistes cubains.
Autodidacte, il apprend la guitare à 10 ans alors qu’il grandit dans la banlieue de La Havane, puis le piano, les percussions et la basse. Artiste polyvalent, il s’inspire des rythmes africains anciens et du jazz moderne. Outre la très populaire salsa cubaine, il maîtrise aussi les genres plus traditionnels : trova, bolero, són, et fait danser à coup sûr avec sa musique portée par une onde positive.

 

Passionné d’ethnomusicologie, il s’établit à Montréal en 1996 et effectue une recherche à l’Université de Montréal sur les origines arabo-andalouses de la musique cubaine. Ce travail donne lieu en 2003 à son premier opus, A Los Ancestros (Aux ancêtres), qui est nominé pour un Prix Félix dans la catégorie Meilleur album de musiques du monde. En tant qu’ethno-musicologue, il donne une série de conférences et de spectacles évoquant les racines africaines, arabo-andalouses, européennes, et l’influence des genres modernes du jazz et du funk sur la musique cubaine.

 

Comme artiste indépendant, il lance l’album Puro café (2010), récompensé d’un Prix Félix, puis Fiesta de Placeres (2016), qui remporte le Latinos Awards Canada. Les téléspectateurs québécois ont sans doute entendu sa musique en regardant la série «Omertá, la loi du silence», dont il a composé la trame musicale avec l’ex-membre d’Uzeb, Michel Cusson. Il a également été choisi par le public de l’émission musicale Belle et Bum comme meilleur artiste.

 

Carlos Placeres (dont le nom signifie «plaisirs» en espagnol) croit aux vertus thérapeutiques de la musique et de la danse et joue régulièrement dans des hôpitaux en tant que membre actif de la Société des arts en milieu de santé (SAMS). Un habitué du Festival de Jazz de Montréal et des Francofolies de Montréal, il assure la première partie des spectacles d’artistes cubains comme Omara Portuondo et Afro Cuban All Stars, mais aussi du groupe Pink Martini.

 

L’artiste canado-cubain, qui prépare actuellement son quatrième album à Cuba, entretient la flamme et les traditions musicales afro-cubaines au Canada en rendant hommage à tous ses ancêtres dans des spectacles qui nous remettent sur pied, car comme le dit une de ses chansons, la musique, c’est la médecine de l’âme.

Carlos Placeres
Cuba - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Musique cubaine

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !