Menu
The best of world music

Casuarina

Biography :

Casuarina is another name for filao, a stringy-leaved tree seen as a “pioneer” in Brazil, with its ability to adapt to nutritionally poor, salt-filled soils. But Casuarina has a second meaning: it is also the name of a street in Rio de Janeiro where four musicians began playing samba nearly 20 years ago, later touring the world with their guitars.

 

Rising young stars of Carioca samba in the 2000s, these are solidly trained virtuoso musicians, embodying the renewal of a samba that respects tradition and gets crowds dancing.

 

The quartet made up of Daniel Montes (seven-string guitar), Gabriel Azevedo (tambourine and vocals), João Fernando (mandolin) and Rafael Freire (cavaquinho, a small guitar typical of Brazilian samba) could just as well have been called Lapa, given the extent to which its history is connected to this Rio neighbourhood, known for its bars and old dance clubs that resonate to the beat of samba every Saturday night.

 

Casuarina has unquestionably played a role in the cultural renewal of this old Bohemian neighbourhood, notably during the memorable concert recorded by the MTV music channel in 2009 when the group’s fans filled the former Fundição Progresso factory, a famous 5,000-seat hall in the heart of Lapa.

 

Casuarina has been so successful in Brazil that each album sells like hotcakes. As regularly as clockwork, the four musicians have brought out a new album every two years since 2005 and have gone on many world tours. They are also highly sought-out musicians who have taken part in numerous collective projects with other Brazilian artists. Over the years, their success has never faltered, so much so that they were named best samba group of 2017 by their peers. Quite simply.

Casuarina
Brésil
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Samba
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Casuarina

Biographie :

Un casuarina, c’est un filao, un arbre aux feuilles filandreuses qu’on dit “pionnier” au Brésil. Cet arbre est capable de s’adapter à des sols très pauvres en nutriments et chargés en sel. Mais Casuarina a une deuxième signification, c’est aussi le nom d’une rue de Rio de Janeiro où quatre musiciens ont commencé à jouer de la samba il y a près de 20 ans, pour finalement faire le tour du monde avec leurs guitares.

Jeunes stars montantes de la samba carioca dans les années 2000, ce sont des musiciens virtuoses. Dotés d’une solide formation, ils incarnent le renouveau d’une samba qui respecte la tradition et fait danser les foules.

Le quatuor constitué par Daniel Montes (guitare à sept cordes), Gabriel Azevedo (tambourin et voix), João Fernando (mandoline) et Rafael Freire (cavaquinho, petite guitare typique de la samba brésilienne) aurait aussi bien pu s’appeler Lapa, tellement son histoire est liée à ce quartier de Rio connu pour ses bars et ses vieux clubs de danse qui résonnent au rythme de la samba tous les samedis soir.

Casuarina a sans conteste participé au renouveau culturel de ce vieux quartier bohème, notamment lors du concert mémorable enregistré par la chaîne musicale MTV en 2009 où les fans du groupe ont rempli l’ancienne usine Fundição Progresso, fameuse salle de 5000 places au cœur de Lapa.

Casuarina fait un tel succès au Brésil que chaque album se vend comme des petits pains. Réguliers comme des pendules, les quatre musiciens sortent un nouvel opus tous les deux ans depuis 2005 et ont effectué de nombreuses tournées dans le monde entier. Ce sont également des musiciens recherchés qui ont participé à de nombreux projets collectifs avec d’autres artistes brésiliens. Avec les années, leur succès ne se dément pas, au point d’être nommés meilleur groupe de samba en 2017 par leurs pairs. Tout simplement.

Casuarina
Brésil
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Samba
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !