Menu
The best of world music

Da Cruz

Biography :

Da Cruz is one person, but also four. First, it is the encounter in 2005 between Mariana Da Cruz, a Brazilian singer from São Paulo, and Swiss beat-maker Ane Hebeisen, former vocalist with the industrial electro group Swamp Terrorists. Da Cruz sang MPB (Brazilian pop) and samba in a club in Lisbon, and Hebeisen was touring in Portugal. They have not left one another since then, and they have brought together their cultures and their musical baggage.

 

Joined soon afterwards in Berne by guitarist Olivier Husmann and former Swamp Terrorists drummer-percussionist Pit Lee, they form a highly productive quartet, with five albums already to their credit: Nova Estação (2007), Corpo Elétrico (2008), Sistema Subversiva (2011), Disco e Progresso (2014) and Eco do futuro (2017). Each album was recorded in their own studio and under their own label, apart from Sistema Subversiva, issued under the American indie label Six Degrees Records (The Dø, Bebel Gilberto, Céu).

 

Da Cruz’s musical influences are broad and encompass new wave, hip-hop, reggae and kuduro (Angolan electro) in festive cohabitation with bossa nova and urban music styles from Brazilian favelas and the slums of Lagos and Johannesburg. It all stands out from the traditional carnival clichés, with the sequins and feathers, to put forward a modern urban Brazil, revolting against injustice and inequality.

 

In its latest album, Eco do futuro, Da Cruz presents, in 14 songs, the testimony of a young black woman of modest origins who sees how her country is pillaged on a daily basis by old white men from the privileged class. The opening track, “País do Futuro” (Country of the future), takes up the expression of Austrian writer Stefan Zweig who saw the Brazil of the 1940s as a land of the future, but the country has since succumbed to the disappointments of an abortive economic miracle. “My Brazil, land of the future, but the present is still stuck behind,” Mariana Da Cruz sings to an Afro-beat rhythm.

Da Cruz
Brésil
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Electro, hip-hop, dub, afrobeat,
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Da Cruz

Biographie :

Da Cruz, c’est une personne, et c’en est quatre. C’est d’abord la rencontre en 2005 entre Mariana Da Cruz, chanteuse brésilienne de São Paulo, et le beatmaker suisse Ane Hebeisen, ex-chanteur du groupe d’électro industrielle Swamp Terrorists. Elle chantait de la MPB (pop brésilienne) et de la samba dans un club à Lisbonne et lui effectuait une tournée au Portugal, mais ils ne se sont plus quittés depuis et ont uni leurs cultures et leur bagage musical.

 

Bientôt rejoints à Berne par le guitariste Olivier Husmann et l’ancien batteur-percussionniste des Swamp Terrorists Pit Lee, ils forment un quatuor très productif, avec déjà cinq albums à son actif : Nova Estação (2007), Corpo Elétrico (2008), Sistema Subversiva (2011), Disco e Progresso (2014) et Eco do futuro (2017). Chaque album a été enregistré dans leur propre studio et sous leur propre label, à part “Sistema Subversiva”, sous le label indie américain Six Degrees Records (The Dø, Bebel Gilberto, Céu).

 

Les influences musicales de Da Cruz sont amples et intègrent la new wave, le hip hop, le reggae et le kuduro (electro angolais) dans une cohabitation festive avec une bossa nova et des musiques urbaines venues des favelas brésiliennes et des slums de Lagos ou de Johannesbourg. Le tout se démarque des clichés traditionnels du carnaval, ses paillettes et ses plumes, pour mettre de l’avant un Brésil urbain et moderne, en révolte contre l’injustice et les inégalités.

 

Dans son dernier opus Eco do futuro, Da Cruz présente en 14 chansons le témoignage d’une jeune femme noire aux origines modestes qui voit comment son pays est quotidiennement pillé par de vieux hommes blancs issus de la classe privilégiée. Le titre d’ouverture “País do Futuro” (“Pays de l’avenir”) reprend l’expression de l’écrivain autrichien Stefan Zweig qui voyait le Brésil des années 1940 comme une “terre d’avenir”, mais le pays a depuis succombé aux désillusions d’un miracle économique avorté. “Mon Brésil, terre d’avenir, mais le présent est encore en retard”, chante Mariana Da Cruz sur un rythme afro beat.

Da Cruz
Brésil
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Electro, hip-hop, dub, afrobeat,
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !