Menu
The best of world music

Daby Touré

Biography :

 

Born into a family of musicians in Mauretania and raised in Senegal, Daby Touré has lived in Paris for more than a quarter-century, and he has performed all over the world. Straddling two worlds, this “Afropean” lays full claim to this dual nationality. A singer, composer and guitarist, he is a citizen of a world that is forever being reconfigured. Touré Touré, the group he founded in 1992 with his cousin Omar, marked an initial step in this desire to map out a bridge between Africa and elsewhere.

 

Though his father (Seta Touré) and his uncles formed the pioneering world music group Touré Kunda, Daby Touré has always followed his own musical path, with influences ranging from traditional African melodies to desert blues, jazz, pop, reggae, funk and soul. Marked by open-mindedness and a desire to explore, his captivating songs are apt to please fans of the great African stars such as Habib Koité and Youssou N’Dour along with adepts of Bob Marley, Paul Simon or Stevie Wonder.

 

A musical and linguistic polyglot, Touré creates an elegant mix of sound that blends the linguistic inflections of the six languages he speaks. His music is a jigsaw puzzle with pieces that, once assembled, form a complete world map. He builds bridges between cultures, crossing borders and giving life to a poetic language and a universal sound. He has shared stages and recorded in studios with some of the greats: pop star Peter Gabriel, Algerian singer-songwriter Souad Massi, Italian musician and singer Enzo Avitabile, African-American bluesman Skip McDonald and French stars Francis Cabrel and Maxime LeForestier, not to mention an Israeli-African collaboration with the Touré-Raichel Collective.

 

Daby Touré never fails to amaze his audiences with his delicate voice, his mastery of the guitar and his original and captivating songs. A great lyricist, a composer of accessible melodic games and an endearing performer and virtuoso guitarist, Daby Touré reaches deeply into listeners’ hearts with his open, unique musical style. “I was born in Africa,” he says. “And all the traditional music I drew upon as a child is still inside me and remains intact. But in my music, I’m always seeking and testing, always mixing genres. I’ve travelled a long way from the ‘folklore’ and ‘traditional’ music of my country.”

 

Daby Touré’s life experience and the various intercultural influences make his music hard to classify, and he finds this interesting. “I regard music as universal, whether it’s traditional or contemporary. If what I’m listening to sends chills down my spine, that’s all I need, whether I understand it or not. I can listen to something I’m unfamiliar with, but when it touches me, I really feel touched! I’m not going to ask myself, ‘Where does it come from? Is it world music?’ What differences does that make? None.”

Daby Touré
Mauritanie - Sénégal
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Folk africaine, blues du désert, jazz, pop, reggae, funk, soul

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Daby Touré

Biographie :

Issu d’une famille de musiciens, né en Mauritanie, et ayant grandi au Sénégal, Daby Touré vit depuis désormais plus d’un quart de siècle à Paris mais se produit dans le monde entier. Enfant de l’entre-deux-mondes, l’«afropéen» revendique pleinement sa double nationalité. Le chanteur, compositeur et guitariste est en effet le citoyen d’un monde en perpétuelle reconfiguration : Touré Touré, le groupe qu’il fonda en 92 avec son cousin Omar, constituait déjà un premier pas vers cette volonté de tracer des ponts entre l’Afrique et l’ailleurs.

 

Alors que son père (Seta Touré) et ses oncles ont formé le groupe pionnier en World Music Touré Kunda, Daby Touré a toujours suivi son propre chemin en musique avec des influences allant des mélodies traditionnelles africaines au blues du désert, au jazz, à la pop, au reggae, au funk et la soul. Doté d’un esprit ouvert d’explorateur, ses chansons accrocheuses sont susceptibles de plaire autant aux fans des grandes stars africaines comme Habib Koité et Youssou N’Dour qu’aux adeptes de Bob Marley, Paul Simon ou de Stevie Wonder.

 

Polyglotte musical et linguistique, Touré crée un élégant mélange sonore qui fusionne les inflexions linguistiques des six langues qu’il parle. Sa musique est un puzzle dont les pièces, une fois assemblées, forment une carte complète du monde. Il construit des ponts entre les cultures, franchissant les frontières et donne vie à une langue poétique et à un son universel. Il a partagé la scène et enregistré en studio avec les plus grands : la pop star Peter Gabriel, la chanteuse-compositeure-interprète algérienne Souad Massi, l’italien Enzo Avitabile, le bluesman afro-américain Skip McDonald, les stars françaises Francis Cabrel et Maxime LeForestier ou encore une collaboration israélo-africaine avec Le Touré-Raichel Collective.

 

Daby Touré ne manque jamais d’étonner le public avec sa voix éthérée, une pratique magistrale de la guitare et des chansons originales et accrocheuses. Merveilleux parolier, compositeur de jeux mélodiques accessibles, interprète et guitariste virtuose attachant, Daby Touré atteint profondément les cœurs des auditeurs avec son style musical accessible et unique. «Je suis né en Afrique» déclare-t-il. «Et toute la musique traditionnelle, que j’ai puisé pendant mon enfance est encore en moi et reste intacte. Mais dans ma musique, je suis toujours en train de chercher, et de tester, de mixer les genres. J’ai voyagé loin du ‘folklore’ et de la musique ‘traditionnelle’ de mon pays».

 

L’expérience de vie de Daby Touré et les diverses influences interculturelles rendent sa musique difficile à classer, ce qui est intéressant avec lui. «Pour moi, la musique est universelle. Que ce soit traditionnel ou contemporain. Si ce que j’écoute me donne des frissons, alors c’est tout ce dont j’ai besoin, que je le comprenne ou non. Je peux écouter quelque chose que je ne connais pas, mais quand ça me touche, ça me touche ! Je ne vais pas me demander “D’où vient-elle ? Est-ce de la musique du monde ?” Quelle différence cela fait-il? Rien.»

Daby Touré
Mauritanie - Sénégal
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Folk africaine, blues du désert, jazz, pop, reggae, funk, soul

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !