Menu
The best of world music

Daniel Bellegarde

Biography :

 

All Montrealers who are lovers of world music, whether of African or Latino styles, or who are fans of percussions in general, are almost certainly familiar with Daniel Bellegarde. For more than 30 years, he has collaborated with every artist, local or foreign, who has been part of the city’s musical scene. His name may be found on at least 40 albums, of every musical genre.

Bellegarde, who is from Haiti, has conducted extensive research and creation in the last few years involving the European influence on Caribbean music. The result is his magnificent album Anba Tonèl, Creole for “beneath the arbour.” For protection from the sun, people danced in tree-shaded areas, hence the album’s name.

His repertory is inspired by the period when slaves working in the cotton fields of Saint-Domingue (as Haiti was known during the French regime) learned European instruments and adapted traditional court dances, adding drums.

Bellegarde has dusted off this forgotten heritage and rehabilitated this musical dialogue between cultures and eras, coming back to the contredanse, quadrille and even Congo minuet (which did not necessarily come from Africa) that were danced in European courts in the 17th century.

With his long career, this percussionist has surrounded himself with the top talent from the local scene, people from Haiti, Québec or North Africa : guitarist Toto Laraque, singer Marco Jeanty, Bottine Souriante fiddler David Boulanger, percussionists Diol Kidi and Sacha Daoud, oud and banjo player Hassan El Hady and bass player Erik West-Millette. The result – cheerful, festive and danceable – earned recognition in the Global Music Awards and a nomination in the Canadian Folk Music Awards in 2018. In 2019, the album Anba Tonèl was nominated in the Independent Music Awards in the “traditional world music” category.

Daniel Bellegarde
Haïti - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Percussions
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Daniel Bellegarde

Biographie :

Tous les Montréalais qui aiment la musique du monde, que ce soit les musiques africaines ou latines ou encore les amateurs de percussions en général connaissent forcément Daniel Bellegarde. Depuis plus de 30 ans, il a collaboré avec tous les artistes, locaux ou étrangers, qui ont foulé la scène musicale de la métropole québécoise. On retrouve son nom sur une bonne quarantaine d’albums, dans tous les genres musicaux.

 

Originaire d’Haïti, Daniel Bellegarde a effectué ces dernières années un immense travail de recherche et de création sur l’influence européenne dans la musique caribéenne. Le résultat est son magnifique album “Anba Tonèl”, qui en créole signifie “sous la tonnelle” : pour se protéger du soleil, on dansait sous la tonnelle, d’où le nom de l’album.

 

Son répertoire est inspiré du temps où les esclaves qui cultivaient le coton à Saint-Domingue (l’ancien nom d’Haïti sous le régime français) apprenaient les instruments européens et adaptaient les danses de cour traditionnelles en les agrémentant de tambours.

 

Daniel Bellegarde dépoussière cet héritage oublié et réhabilite ce dialogue musical entre les cultures et les époques en revisitant la contredanse, le quadrille et même le menuet-congo (qui ne vient pas forcément d’Afrique), que l’on dansait dans les cours européennes au XVIIe siècle.

 

Fort de sa longue carrière, le percussionniste s’est entouré des meilleurs talents de la scène locale, venus d’Haïti, du Québec ou du Maghreb : le guitariste Toto Laraque, le chanteur Marco Jeanty, le violoneux de la Bottine souriante David Boulanger, les percussionnistes Diol Kidi et Sacha Daoud, l’oudiste-banjoïste Hassan El Hady et le contrebassiste Erik West-Millette. Le résultat est réjouissant, festif, dansant et a été récompensé en 2018 par un prix Global Music Awards, puis une nomination aux Canadian Folk Music Awards. En 2019 l’album Anba Tonèl a été nominé aux Independent Music Awards dans la catégorie “musique du monde traditionnelle”.

Daniel Bellegarde
Haïti - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Percussions
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !