Menu
The best of world music

Elida Almeida

Biography :

The new phenomenon of Cape Verdean music is just 26 years old and already has three albums to her credit. Winner of the RFI Prix Découvertes in 2015, Elida Almeida is a native of Santiago island, one of the 10 Cape Verde islands, and grew up in the mountains, without electricity or material comfort. She sang at church, and music became her refuge following her father’s untimely death.

 

She wrote hope-filled songs while still at high school. At age 17, she composed her first hit, “Nta Konsigui” (I shall succeed), a predictive title, that earned her an award in a local competition and launched her as a singer in local bars. As a university student in communications and already a mother, she helped her own mother as best she could.

 

Her beautiful deep voice inspired José da Silva, Cesaria Evora’s famous producer, who saw her sing in a Cape Verde bar and immediately signed her to his Lusafrica label. Things moved quickly for Elida, among the few singers to do her own compositions and to write her own lyrics. Her first album, Ora doci, Ora Margos (Sweet hours, dark hours), came out in 2014 with the title track “Nta Konsigui.” Her song soon became a hit in Cape Verde: in just one year, it was viewed a million-and-a-half times on social networks. Elida set out on tour and became known in France and the United States.

 

Composition came to her naturally with her radio work, and she also wrote for other artists, some of them particularly well known. Cape Verdeans identified with her lyrics, because Elida had been through many trials and tribulations at an early age and did not hesitate to describe social problems such as domestic violence, drugs and alcoholism.

 

Feeling inspired, she came out with a second album, Kebrada, in 2017, followed soon afterwards by a third album, Djunta Kudjer, with typically Cape Verdean beats – batuque, funaná, coladera and tabanka – infused with Latin energy.

 

Kebrada took its name from the small village where she grew up and where she goes regularly to visit her grandmother. Elida took the time to record the album with several musicians of Afro descent, whether in Cuba, Brazil or Senegal. The album was recorded in Abidjan, Côte-d’Ivoire, giving her the opportunity to celebrate her African identity.

 

With her identity established on the international scene, Elida Almeida is ready to explore collaborations with other artists. With Brazilian singer Flavia Coelho, she has gone back to her song “Ki Ta Manda E Mi” in Mo Laudi’s remix version, “Sou Free,” and with Djodje, the favourite singer of Cape Verdean youth, she recorded “É Zomban.”

Elida Almeida
Cap Vert
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Elida Almeida

Biographie :

Le nouveau phénomène de la musique cap-verdienne a tout juste 26 ans et déjà trois albums à son actif. Lauréate du Prix Découvertes RFI en 2015, Elida Almeida est native de l’île de Santiago, une des dix îles du Cap-Vert, et grandit dans la montagne, sans électricité ni confort matériel. Elle chante à l’église et la musique devient son refuge à la suite du décès prématuré de son père.

 

Elle écrit des chansons remplies d’espoir alors qu’elle est encore au lycée. À 17 ans, elle compose son premier succès, “Nta Konsigui” (“Je réussirai”), titre prémonitoire, qui lui permet de gagner un prix dans un concours local et de se lancer comme chanteuse dans les bars locaux. Étudiante en communication à l’université et déjà mère, elle aide sa mère comme elle peut.

 

Sa belle voix grave inspire José da Silva, le fameux producteur de Cesaria Evora, qui la voit chanter dans un bar au Cap-Vert et la signe sur-le-champ sur son label Lusafrica. Les choses s’enchaînent vite pour Elida, qui est l’une des rares chanteuses à composer elle-même et à écrire ses textes. Son premier album, Ora doci, Ora Margos (Heures douces, heures sombres), sort en 2014, avec comme titre-phare “Nta Konsigui”. Sa chanson devient très vite un tube au Cap-Vert : en un an, il est vu un million et demi de fois sur les réseaux sociaux. Elida part immédiatement en tournée et se fait connaître en France et aux États-Unis.

 

La composition lui est venue naturellement en faisant de la radio et elle écrit aussi pour d’autres artistes, certains particulièrement reconnus. Les Cap-verdiens s’identifient à ses textes, car Elida a traversé beaucoup d’épreuves très jeune et n’hésite pas à décrier des problèmes sociaux comme la violence conjugale, la drogue, ou l’alcoolisme.

 

Très inspirée, elle enchaîne avec un deuxième album, Kebrada en 2017, bientôt suivi d’un troisième album aux rythmes typiquement cap-verdiens – batuque, funaná, coladera et tabanka – infusés d’une énergie latine, Djunta Kudjer.

 

L’album Kebrada tire son nom du petit village où elle a grandi et où elle visite régulièrement sa grand-mère. Cette fois, Elida prend le temps d’enregistrer avec plusieurs musiciens de descendance afro, qu’ils soient à Cuba, au Brésil ou au Sénégal. L’album lui-même a été enregistré à Abidjan, en Côte-d’Ivoire et donne à Elida Almeida l’occasion de célébrer son identité africaine.

Une fois son identité établie sur la scène internationale, Elida Almeida est prête à explorer des collaborations avec d’autres artistes. Avec la chanteuse brésilienne Flavia Coelho, elle revisite sa chanson “Ki Ta Manda E Mi” avec la version remix de Mo Laudi, “Sou Free”, et avec le chanteur favori de la jeunesse cap-verdienne Djodje, elle enregistre “É Zomban”.

Elida Almeida
Cap Vert
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !