Menu
The best of world music

Gotta Lago

Biography :

Living since 1998 in Montréal, where he discovered an abundance of cultural riches, Ivorian multi-instrumentalist Gotta Lago received the 2016 Prix de la diversité culturelle, an award recognizing years of effort to bring Africa and America closer through the magic of music. Since 2004, he has headed the Gotta Lago Project and, with his group, brings the warmth of Africa to North America by melding traditional African music with the blues and modern world music currents.

 

Along with his emblematic scarf exhibiting pan-African motifs, he wears several caps : guitarist, pianist, percussionist, vocalist and narrator. He uses all these talents to make his culture known to his listeners, as, for example, during his African Guitar Spirit show where he tells the story of the guitar in African music. The show even includes a version, rapped in Wolof, of the song Moi, mes souliers by Québec chansonnier Félix Leclerc.

 

In 2011, he became involved in the Arométis collective and took part in the composition of 13 tracks with a group of 17 musicians from varied backgrounds. The project, fostered by the organization Vision Diversité, makes new talents known by disseminating a collective album featuring blended musical styles.

 

Gotta Lago also took part in the New World Symphony project inspired by the famous work by Antonin Dvo?ák, revisited by musical director Luc Boivin on the occasion of the Sommet de la Francophonie to represent Québec’s cultural mosaic.

 

Heavily involved in teaching, Gotta Lago directs percussion workshops in schools and teaches African song. In addition to his musical activities, he leads storytelling events and collaborates with painters, actors and dancers, notably as a choreographer for contemporary dance shows.

 

In 2009, he took part in the “Carnets de route Montréal-Soweto-Marrakech” musical project, bringing together more than eight artists of diverse origins. Following this extraordinary experience, Gotta Lago brought out his solo album Carnets de route Soweto-Marrakech in 2014, a musical journey starting in South Africa and ending on the Moroccan shores. He continued his exploration of the African continent in January 2019 during a tour in Mauritania and is currently working on his second album. Regardless of the destination, travel is always a source of fascination with Gotta Lago!

Gotta Lago
Côte d'Ivoire - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Musique africaine
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Gotta Lago

Biographie :

Établi à Montréal depuis 1998 où il découvre une richesse culturelle foisonnante, le multi-instrumentiste ivoirien Gotta Lago a reçu en 2016 le Prix de la diversité culturelle, un prix qui vient récompenser des années d’efforts pour rapprocher Afrique et Amérique grâce à la magie de la musique. Il dirige en effet depuis 2004 le Gotta Lago Project et amène avec son groupe la chaleur de l’Afrique en Amérique du Nord en fusionnant la musique traditionnelle africaine avec le blues et les courants modernes de la musique du monde.

 

Toujours coiffé d’un foulard aux motifs panafricains, il porte aussi plusieurs casquettes : guitariste, pianiste, percussionniste, chanteur, et conteur. Il utilise tous ces talents pour faire connaître sa culture à ses auditeurs, comme par exemple lors de son spectacle African Guitar Spirit où il raconte l’histoire de la guitare dans la musique africaine. Le spectacle inclut même une version rappée en wolof de Moi, mes souliers de Félix Leclerc.

 

En 2011, il s’implique dans le collectif Arométis et participe à la composition de 13 titres avec un groupe de 17 musiciens venus de tous les horizons. Le projet, porté par l’organisme Vision Diversité, permet de faire connaître de nouveaux talents grâce à la diffusion d’un album collectif mettant en valeur des musiques métissées.

 

Gotta Lago participe aussi au projet de Symphonie du Nouveau Monde, célèbre œuvre d’Antonin Dvo?ák revisitée par le directeur musical Luc Boivin à l’occasion du Sommet de la Francophonie pour représenter la mosaïque culturelle du Québec.

 

Très impliqué dans l’enseignement, Gotta Lago anime des ateliers de percussion dans des écoles et enseigne le chant africain. Outre ses activités musicales, il anime des soirées de contes et collabore avec des peintres, des acteurs et des danseurs, notamment en tant que chorégraphe pour des spectacles de danse contemporaine.

 

En 2009, il participe au projet musical “Carnets de route Montréal-Soweto-n Marrakech”, qui rassemble plus de huit artistes d’origines diverses. Suite à cette expérience extraordinaire, Gotta Lago sort en 2014 son album solo “Carnets de route Soweto- Marrakech”, un voyage musical qui prend sa source en Afrique du sud et s’achève sur les rives du Maroc. Il poursuit son exploration du continent africain en janvier 2019 lors d’une tournée en Mauritanie et prépare actuellement son second album. Quelle que soit la destination, le voyage est toujours fascinant avec Gotta Lago!

Gotta Lago
Côte d'Ivoire - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Musique africaine
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !