Menu
The best of world music

Hakim Salhi

Biography :

 

A dancer by training who later became a major star in Algerian variety shows, Hakim Salhi embodies the great era of 1980s raï popular music, which he now blends with western electronic pop-rock and with the gnaoui and chaoui rhythms of his native Algeria.

His career began in 1985 when he won a dance competition held by the Centre culturel français in Algiers. He later joined the Belabbès ballet and, after that, founded his own troupe in Boumerdès. He collaborated with Kabyle singer Takfarinas, gradually moving to a musical career in the 1990s.

His lyrics, anchored in everyday life, express the dreams and hopes of the people. He regards himself as the singer of all Algerians, in a country shaken by long and difficult years. As if to confirm this, he performed in 2007 before thousands of spectators at the inaugural show of the ninth Pan-African Games, held in Algiers. The ceremony was broadcast on television, reinforcing his visibility.

Whether funky-alaoui, funky-raï or in other styles, his compositions, always inspired by real life, stand out for their original tempo. Providing a bridge between Berber- and Arabic-speaking Algerians, Hakim would innovate by performing one of his compositions in Kabyle. He also brought back the guellal, the traditional percussion instrument of western Algeria, used in raï.

On stage, an ensemble of drums, derbouka, guitars, synthesizer and guellal back up the performances by the singer, who deep gruff voice is often used to raise the theme of exile. His pop-raï musical style and his energy on stage are all the rage in Algeria as well as abroad, and he performs in various North African and European countries, as well as in Canada, notably at the Festival du Maghreb in Montréal.

He is often invited to Québec, where he is well received and has many fans, so much so that his greatest hits were recorded by Disques Nuits d’Afrique in 2015 on an album titled Sahraoui, an international edition consisting of the top tracks from his albums Khomeïssa and Makatib.

Hakim Salhi
Algérie
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Pop-raï, rock

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Hakim Salhi

Biographie :

Danseur de formation, devenu grande vedette de la variété algérienne, Hakim Salhi incarne la grande époque de la musique populaire raï des années 1980, qu’il mêle aujourd’hui à de la pop-rock électronique occidentale et aux rythmes gnaoui et chaoui de son Algérie natale.

 

Sa carrière débute en 1985 lorsqu’il remporte un concours de danse organisé par le Centre culturel français d’Alger, puis intègre le ballet de Belabbès, et enfin, fonde sa propre troupe à Boumerdès. Il collabore avec le chanteur kabyle Takfarinas et s’oriente progressivement vers une carrière musicale dans les années 1990.

 

Ancrés dans le quotidien, ses textes expriment les rêves et les espoirs de la population. Il se dit le chanteur de tous les Algériens, dans un pays secoué par de longues années difficiles. Petite consécration, Hakim Salhi se produit en 2007 devant des milliers de spectateurs lors du spectacle d’inauguration des neuvièmes Jeux Panafricains d’Alger. La cérémonie est retransmise à la télévision et renforce sa visibilité.

 

Qu’elles soient funky-alaoui, funky-raï ou autres, ses compositions, toujours inspirées du vécu, se distinguent par leur tempo original. Faisant le pont entre les berbérophones et les arabophones d’Algérie, Hakim innovera même en interprétant l’une d’elles en kabyle. Il remet également au goût du jour l’instrument de percussion traditionnel de l’Ouest, le guellal, qui est utilisé dans le raï algérien.

 

Sur scène, un collectif de batterie, derbouka, guitares, synthétiseur et guellal soutiennent les prestations du chanteur, dont la voix rocailleuse et profonde aborde souvent le thème de l’exil. Son style de musique pop-raï et son énergie sur scène font fureur en Algérie, mais aussi à l’étranger, et il se produit dans plusieurs pays d’Afrique du Nord et d’Europe, et jusqu’au Canada. notamment au Festival du Maghreb à Montréal.

 

Régulièrement invité au Québec, il y est toujours bien accueilli et y retrouve régulièrement ses fans, au point que ses plus grands succès sont enregistrés par les Disques Nuits d’Afrique en 2015 dans un album intitulé “Sahraoui”, une édition internationale composée des meilleurs titres extraits de ses albums “Khomeïssa” et “Makatib”.

Hakim Salhi
Algérie
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Pop-raï, rock

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !