Menu
The best of world music

Imarhan

Biography :

Rising stars of desert rock, the five musicians of Imarhan (“those who wish me well” in the Tamashek language) stride in the footsteps of their Tuareg big brothers, Tinariwen.

 

From Tamanrasset, in southern Algeria, Imarhan consists of five friends: singer and guitarist Sadam (whose real name is Iyad Moussa Ben Abderahmane), backed by the voices and instruments of Hicham Bouhasse and Haiballah Akhamouk on percussions, Tahar Khaldi on bass and Abdelkader Ourzig on electric guitar.

 

Their guitars became tuned in 2008 under the guidance of a cousin of Sadam, none other than Tinariwen’s bass player, Eyadou Ag Leche. In some ways, he is the sixth musketeer of Imarhan, handling the production of their eponymous first album, launched in 2016, and writing some of its compositions.

 

Imarhan was propelled into the big leagues when Sadam replaced Tinariwen’s famous guitarist and founder on tour for two years. The influence of the desert blues pioneers is thus very strong, but Imarhan is well able to stand out. When the group’s first album came out in 2016, they were immediately dubbed the “new wave” of Tuareg music, blending the poetry and rhythms of their ancestors with the sensuality of Algerian raï and the vigour of West African guitar riffs.

 

The members of Imarhan, bluesmen but rockers as well, wear leather jackets over their djellabahs. They emerge to some extent from the “assouf” (nostalgia) of the desert to explore the electrifying melodies of the city, incorporating the electronic and pop-rock influences of Daft Punk or Michael Jackson that were part of their childhood. Less meditative than their first album, their second one, Temet (“connections”) is marked by the energy of tours in Europe, the United States and China.

 

With their tours in New York, London or Québec, Imarhan’s modern Tuaregs live in the Internet era but never forget their “ashak,” the basic values of dignity, hospitality, respect and consideration. In the 1990s, Tinariwen became involved in the Tuareg armed rebel movement, but today Imarhan’s new generation is launching an appeal for unity to seek a collective resolution of the problems affecting the desert communities. For them, the message is clear: music, language and friendship are the best vectors for maintaining the link between the Kel Tamashek (Tamashek-speaking) peoples living between northern Mali, southern Algeria and Niger.

Imarhan
Algérie
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Imarhan

Biographie :

Étoiles montantes du rock du désert dans la foulée de leurs grands frères touareg Tinariwen, les cinq musiciens d’Imarhan (“ceux qui me veulent du bien”, en tamacheq) sont originaires de Tamanrasset, dans le sud de l’Algérie.

 

Imarhan, c’est donc cinq amis: le chanteur et guitariste Sadam, de son vrai nom Iyad Moussa Ben Abderahmane, appuyé par les voix et les instruments de Hicham Bouhasse et Haiballah Akhamouk aux percussions, Tahar Khaldi à la basse et Abdelkader Ourzig à la guitare électrique.

Ils ont accordé leurs guitares en 2008 sous la houlette du cousin de Sadam, qui n’est nul autre que le bassiste de Tinariwen, Eyadou Ag Leche. Ce dernier est un peu le sixième mousquetaire d’Imarhan : c’est lui qui signe la réalisation et quelques-unes des compositions de leur premier album éponyme, lancé en 2016.

 

Imarhan a été propulsé dans la cour des grands lorsque Sadam a remplacé le célébrissime guitariste et fondateur de Tinariwen en tournée pendant deux ans. L’influence des pionniers du blues du désert est donc très forte, mais Imarhan sait se démarquer. À la sortie du premier album en 2016, le groupe est immédiatement adoubé comme la “nouvelle vague” de la musique touareg, mêlant la poésie et les rythmes de leurs ancêtres à la sensualité du raï algérien et à la vigueur des riffs de guitare d’Afrique de l’Ouest.

 

Bluesmen, mais aussi rockeurs, les membres d’Imarhan portent le blouson de cuir sur leur djellabah: ils sortent un peu du “assouf” (nostalgie) du désert pour explorer les mélodies électrisantes de la ville en incorporant les influences électroniques et pop-rock de Daft Punk ou de Michael Jackson qui ont bercé leur enfance. Moins méditatif que leur premier opus, le second album, “Temet” (“connexions”) porte l’énergie des tournées en Europe, aux États-Unis et en Chine.

 

Entre leurs tournées à New York, Londres ou au Québec, les touaregs modernes d’Imarhan vivent à l’heure d’Internet, mais n’oublient par leur “ashak”, c’est-à-dire les valeurs fondamentales de dignité, hospitalité, respect et considération. Dans les années 1990, Tinariwen s’était impliqué dans le mouvement de rébellion armé des touareg, mais aujourd’hui la nouvelle génération d’Imarhan lance un appel à l’unité pour résoudre collectivement les problèmes qui affectent les communautés du désert. Pour eux, le message est clair: la musique, la langue et l’amitié sont les meilleurs vecteurs pour conserver le lien entre les peuples Kel Tamacheq (“qui parlent tamacheq”) vivant entre le nord du Mali, le sud de l’Algérie et le Niger.

 

Imarhan
Algérie
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !