Menu
The best of world music

Jah9

Biography :

The new diva of Jamaican reggae, whose powerful and graceful voice can venture into jazz, dub, dancehall or roots in the most classic tradition – this is Jah9. The 35-year-old Montego Bay native is conquering reggae fans around the world. Her strong, sensual voice brings to mind Nina Simone, Erikah Badu and the early Lauryn Hill.

 

The daughter of a pastor and a social worker, Janine Cunningham inherited a spirituality and keen social conscience. She describes herself as a country girl who became involved with music when her parents moved to Kingston during her youth. Lost in the chaos of the city, she took refuge in poetry and joined the dub instrumental milieu, where her lyrics inspired her Rastafarian friends.

 

Noticed by the famous singer Beres Hammond, she began to record in 2010 and launched her first album, New Name, in 2013 under the guidance of producer Rory Gilligan, of the highly popular Stone Love sound system. Jah9’s international career was launched straight away, with sets of tours in Europe and the U.S. Her jazz-influenced dub style and her deep lyrics seduced audiences from the start.

 

Pursuing her spiritual evolution, Jah9 embraced yoga, a practice that corresponds perfectly to her philosophy of going beyond one’s limits based on self-reliance and personal discipline. She launched “Yoga on Dub TV” on her YouTube channel with asanas set to a reggae musical background (“In the spirit”). She held yoga retreats during her tours.

 

Her second album, 9, issued in 2016 with femininity as its theme, was chosen as second best album of the year by Billboard magazine. The number 9 represents the helix, abundance, fertility and respect for one’s deep nature. While preparing for the release of a new album this year, Jah9 made the cover of Reggaecharts magazine in January 2019, and her track “Field Trip” was ranked number 9. The clip of her latest track, “Heaven,” shows her in all her femininity and elegance.

 

Alongside her singing career, the young Jamaican also heads the non-profit organization Manifesto Jamaica, which helps young people by giving them access to arts and culture.

Jah9
Jamaique
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Jah9

Biographie :

La nouvelle diva du reggae jamaïcain, dont la voix puissante et gracieuse peut s’aventurer dans le jazz, le dub, le dancehall ou le roots dans la plus classique tradition, c’est Jah9. À 35 ans, cette native de Montego Bay est en train de conquérir les amateurs de reggae dans le monde entier et sa voix puissante et sensuelle rappelle tout à la fois Nina Simone, Erikah Badu et la Lauryn Hill des débuts.

 

Fille d’un pasteur et d’une travailleuse sociale, Janine Cunningham a hérité d’une spiritualité et d’une conscience sociale aigüe. Elle se décrit comme une fille de la campagne qui a commencé la musique quand ses parents ont déménagé à Kingston dans sa jeunesse. Perdue dans le chaos de la ville, elle s’est réfugiée dans la poésie et a intégré le cercle du milieu dub instrumental où ses textes inspiraient ses amis rastafaris.

 

Remarquée par le célèbre chanteur Beres Hammond, elle commence à enregistrer en 2010 et lance son premier album, “New Name”, en 2013 sous la houlette du producteur Rory Gilligan, du très populaire sound system Stone Love. La carrière internationale de Jah9 est immédiatement lancée et les tournées européennes et américaines s’enchaînent. Son style de dub influencé par le jazz et ses paroles profondes séduisent d’emblée.

 

Poursuivant sans cesse son évolution spirituelle, Jah9 s’initie au yoga, une pratique qui correspond parfaitement à sa philosophie de dépassement personnel basée sur l’autonomie et la discipline personnelle. Elle lance “Yoga on Dub TV” sur sa chaîne Youtube avec des asanas sur fond de musique reggae (“In the spirit”) et organise des retraites de yoga pendant ses tournées.

 

Son deuxième album, “9”, sort en 2016 sous le signe de la féminité, le chiffre 9 représentant la spirale, l’abondance, la fertilité et le respect de sa nature profonde. Il a été élu le 2e meilleur album de l’année par le magazine Billboard. Alors qu’elle prépare la sortie d’un nouvel album cette année, Jah9 a fait la couverture du magazine Reggaecharts en janvier 2019 et son titre “Field Trip” était classé numéro 9. Le clip de son dernier titre “Heaven” la montre dans toute sa féminité et son élégance.

 

Parallèlement à sa carrière de chanteuse, la jeune jamaïcaine dirige également l’organisation à but non lucratif Manifesto Jamaica, qui aide les jeunes en leur donnant accès aux arts et à la culture.

Jah9
Jamaique
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !