Menu
The best of world music

Kalabanté

Biography :

 

Kalabanté is both a Québec-born show and a circus school built near Conakry, the Guinean capital. The link between the two? Generous artists who wish to assist Guinea and make it better known through shows in Canada and elsewhere.

 

In November 2006, Yamoussa Bangoura, together with several friends, founded Les Productions Kalabanté, an arts company conducting a humanitarian project. Bangoura is one of the people at the heart of this project. This multidisciplinary artist – acrobat, dancer and musician – grew up in Guinea, where he took part in shows of Conakry-based Circus Baobab. He later joined Montréal-based Cirque Eloize, going on the world tour of its show “Nomade” from 2002 to 2007.

 

In 2007, he founded Kalabanté in Montréal with Guinean artists and acrobats, and he also worked, as a creator of acts as well as an acrobat, singer and musician, for the Cavalia show “Odysseo.” In the following years, the Kalabanté collective produced four shows: “Ko Ryass” in 2010, “Uno” and “Kumbaya” in 2011, and “Kira Néné,” created in 2012 in collaboration with ArtCirq, the world’s one and only Inuit circus troupe, founded by Guillaume Saladin. This show was put together in connection with a documentary film produced by the two troupes, which share the same approach: giving hope and pride to their communities of origin. The film explored these two contrasting worlds (the Canadian Far North and Guinea), but with one and the same passion: the circus. Produced by Linda Matchan, Circus Without Borders had its world première in April 2015 at the Independent Film Festival of Boston.
The large-scale “Afrique en Cirque” show was presented outdoors at Nuits d’Afrique three years in a row, from 2014 to 2016, and then indoors at the Olympia de Montréal in 2017 and 2018. In 2017, Kalabanté was invited to celebrate Canada’s 150th birthday at the Canadian National Exhibition in Toronto. The following year, the “Afrique en Cirque” show was part of the Black History Month celebrations in 2018. The Kalabanté collective, which donates its profits to the building and operation of the circus school of the same name near Conakry, has hardly stopped amazing us.

 

This year, Kalabanté is previewing its new show, “Tambours Sacrés” (Sacred Drums), at the Festival International Nuits d’Afrique. With this new creation, African percussions are played in the form of Japanese taiko, in which each gesture is sublimated. Kalabanté translates emotion from the percussions into movement, breaking down each beat into an attitude, a posture, a contortion or a perilous leap. An event with sights and sounds not to be missed!

Kalabanté
Afrique de l'Ouest - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
African percussion

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Kalabanté

Biographie :

Kalabanté est à la fois un spectacle né au Québec et une école de cirque construite près de Conakry, en Guinée. Le lien entre les deux ? Des artistes généreux, désireux de faire connaître et d’aider la Guinée à travers des shows au Canada et ailleurs.

 

En novembre 2006, Yamoussa Bangoura, entourés de plusieurs amis, fonde les productions Kalabanté, une compagnie artistique menant un projet humanitaire. Yamoussa Bangoura est une des âmes de ce projet. Cet artiste multi-disciplinaire, à la fois acrobate, danseur et musicien, a grandi en Guinée, où il participe aux spectacles du Circus Baobab de Conakry. Il intègre ensuite le Cirque Eloize avec qui il participe à la tournée mondiale du spectacle Nomade de 2002 à 2007.

 

En 2007, il fonde Kalabanté à Montréal avec des artistes et acrobates guinéens et œuvre également, en tant que créateur de numéros, acrobate, chanteur et musicien, pour le spectacle Odysseo de Cavalia. Au cours des années suivantes, le collectif Kalabanté produit quatre spectacles : Ko Ryass en 2010, Uno et Kumbaya en 2011, et Kira Néné, créé en 2012 en collaboration avec ArtCirq, la seule et unique troupe de cirque Inuit au monde, fondée par Guillaume Saladin. Ce dernier spectacle s’est fait en lien avec un film documentaire réalisé sur les deux troupes, qui partage la même démarche : redonner espoir et fierté aux communautés dont ils sont originaires. Ce documentaire explore ces deux univers opposés (le Grand Nord canadien et la Guinée), mais avec une seule et même passion : le cirque. Réalisé par Linda Matchan, Circus Without Borders a fait sa première mondiale au mois d’avril 2015 au Festival du film indépendant de Boston. Le spectacle de grande envergure Afrique en Cirque est présenté en extérieur à Nuits d’Afrique trois années consécutives, en 2014, 2015 et 2016, puis en intérieur à l’Olympia de Montréal en 2017 et 2018.

 

En 2017, Kalabanté est invité à célébrer le 150e anniversaire du Canada à la Canadian National Exhibition à Toronto. L’année suivante, le spectacle Afrique en Cirque fait partie des célébrations de l’édition 2018 du Mois de l’Histoire des Noirs. Le collectif Kalabanté, qui reverse ses bénéfices au profit de la construction et du fonctionnement de l’école de cirque du même nom près de Conakry, n’a pas fini de nous émerveiller.

 

Cette année, Kalabanté vient nous présenter en avant-première au Festival International Nuits d’Afrique son nouveau spectacle, Tambours Sacrés. Avec cette nouvelle création, les percussions africaines sont jouées sous forme de taiko japonais où chaque geste est sublimé. Kalabanté traduit en mouvements l’émotion issue des percussions, décompose chaque rythme en une attitude, une posture, une contorsion, un saut périlleux. Un évènement visuel et sonore à ne pas manquer !

Kalabanté
Afrique de l'Ouest - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Percussions africaines

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !