Menu
The best of world music

Le Maquis

Poirier, Mr. Touré! with coco.em

Biography :

 

Montréal nights have become all the hotter since DJ Poirier began disseminating his tropical beats. First on the Université de Montréal student radio station (CISM) in the 1990s, then at clubs in Montréal and elsewhere, DJ Poirier has got the world’s festival-goers dancing, whether in Montreux (Switzerland), at Big Day Out (Australia) or at SONAR in Barcelona. Recognized for his creativity and eclecticism, Poirier has worked for years with Canadian talents of varied origins, among them Boogat, Face-T, Bonjay or Imposs and Samito, of Mexican, Haitian and Mozambican origins.

Poirier made himself noticed with the release of his first minimal electro creation using an old PC, leading him to technical feats. His second release, Sous le manguier, in 2002, showed his interest in African instruments such as the mbira (also called the kalimba) and the balafon. In 2006, he was signed up by the mythical British label Ninja Tune (Amon Tobin, Coldcut and Cinematic Orchestra). He then turned to dancehall in the album No Ground Under (2007) and collaborated with singers Face-T and MC Zulu. Since 2005, Poirier has enlivened Montréal night life with his monthly events focusing on tropical beats, hip-hop and electro: Bounce le Gros, then Run the Riddim, Soca Sound System, Karnival and, more recently, the Qualité Deluxe events with his partners DJ Mr. Touré! and Kyou. DJ Poirier anticipated the wave of interest in African and Caribbean beats and sounds and has explored tropical destinations for the last 20 years. He is just back from a tour of Cape Verde and Senegal, where he discovered electro-sabar and created bridges between Dakar and Montréal.

Mr. Touré! was long known by the name DJ Sagewondah. Since 2003, he has spun the turntables to get his favourites discovered and to convey his contagious energy to the crowd. He also became noticed in The French Connection DJs collective and The Crew Tones. Starting in 2009, his concerts abroad have proliferated, from Cuba to Japan and including the United States. In the last few years, he has worked on a series of remixes under the new pseudonym Mr. Touré! to reinvent himself and to develop a new artistic direction. Blending coupé décalé, Afro-house and deep house, and connecting world beats and electronic music, he has the desire to create a mixed and unifying sound.

 

Emma Nzioka, alias DJ coco.em, specializes in hip-hop old and new school and in Afro-electronic, Afro-house, kuduro and lingala (Congolese rumba) experimental sounds. Her eclectic selections immerse us in the fresh sounds coming from Africa and have earned her performances at prestigious festivals such as Afropunk Johannesburg, Nyege Nyege, Boiler Room’s True Music Africa and Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide FM show. She is also a multidisciplinary artist devoted to photography and documentary filmmaking, with training in Malaysia and Kenya. She dreams of setting up a channel carrying documentary films made by and for Africans.

This all made it logical for DJ Poirier and his partner Mr. Touré! to be the ones welcoming coco.em, Kenya’s top DJ, to their Montréal domain. Mr. Touré!’s coupé décalé, Afro-house and deep house and Poirier’s latest gems will mix with the Afro cocktail of kuduro, hip-hop and Congolese beats from the Nairobi DJ, linked by electronic beats and magnetic percussions.

 

Le Maquis
Qc. - Kenya
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Le Maquis

Poirier, Mr. Touré! et coco.em

Biographie :

Les soirées montréalaises sont plus chaudes depuis que DJ Poirier, diffuse ses rythmes tropicaux. D’abord à la radio étudiante de l’Université de Montréal (CISM) dans les années 1990, puis dans les clubs de la métropole québécoise et ailleurs, DJ Poirier fait danser les festivaliers du monde entier, à Montreux (Suisse), au Big Day Out (Australie) ou au SONAR à Barcelone. Reconnu pour sa créativité et son éclectisme, Poirier travaille depuis des années avec de nombreux talents canadiens aux origines diverses, comme Boogat, Face-T, Bonjay, ou encore Imposs et Samito, d’origine mexicaine, haïtienne et mozambicaine.

 

Poirier se fait remarquer dès la sortie de sa première création en électro minimale en utilisant un vieux PC, ce qui l’amène à des prouesses techniques. Son 2e release, Sous le manguier, 2002, révèle son intérêt pour des instruments africains comme la mbira (aussi appelé kalimba) ou le balafon. En 2006, il est signé par le mythique label britannique Ninja Tune (Amon Tobin, Coldcut, Cinematic Orchestra). Il se tourne alors vers le dancehall dans l’album No Ground Under (2007) et collabore avec les chanteurs Face-T et MC Zulu. Depuis 2005, Poirier anime le nightlife de Montréal avec ses soirées mensuelles axées sur les rythmes tropicaux, hip hop, électro : Bounce le Gros, puis Run the Riddim, Soca Sound System, Karnival et plus récemment, les soirées Qualité Deluxe avec ses compères DJ Mr Touré! et Kyou. DJ Poirier a anticipé la vague d’intérêt pour les rythmes et les sonorités africaines et antillaises et explore depuis vingt ans les destinations tropicales. Il revient tout juste d’une tournée au Cap-Vert et au Sénégal où il a découvert l’électro-sabar et créé des ponts entre Dakar et Montréal.

 

Mr Touré! s’est longtemps fait connaître sous le nom de DJ Sagewondah. Depuis 2003, il manie les tables tournantes pour faire découvrir ses coups de coeur et communiquer à la foule son énergie contagieuse. Il s’est également fait remarquer au sein du collectif The French Connection djs et de The Crew Tones. À partir de 2009, il multiplie les concerts à l’étranger, de Cuba au Japon en passant par les États-Unis. Il travaille à une série de remix sous le nouveau pseudonyme Mr. Touré! depuis quelques années afin de se réinventer et de développer une nouvelle direction artistique. En mêlant coupé décalé, afro house, deep house, en connectant rythmes du monde et musique électronique, il a le désir de créer un son métissé et rassembleur.

 

Emma Nzioka, alias DJ coco.em, se spécialise dans le hip hop old et new school et dans les sons expérimentaux afro electronic, afro house, kuduro et lingala (rumba congolaise). Ses sélections éclectiques nous plongent dans les sons frais venant d’Afrique et lui ont valu de se produire dans des festivals prestigieux tels que Afropunk Johannesburg, Nyege Nyege, True Music Africa de Boiler Room, ou l’émission Worldwide FM de Gilles Peterson. C’est aussi une artiste pluridisciplinaire qui se dédie à la photographie et au documentaire, avec une formation en Malaisie et au Kenya, et qui rêve de monter une chaîne de films documentaires faite par et pour les Africains.

 

Il était donc logique que ce soit Poirier et son partenaire Mr Touré! qui accueillent coco.em, sur leurs terres montréalaises pour une soirée spéciale afrohouse. Le coupé décalé, l’afro house, la deep house de Mr Touré! et les dernières perles de Poirier se mixeront avec le cocktail afro de kuduro, hip hop et rythmes congolais de la DJ de Nairobi, liés par des beats électroniques et des percussions magnétiques.

Le Maquis
Qc. - Kenya
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Afro-house
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !