Menu
The best of world music

Maya Kamaty

Biography :

 

As a teenager, Maya Kamaty (then known as Maya Pounia) did not expect to become a singer, although she had been raised by a musician father and storyteller mother. Nevertheless, the world of music and poetry that imbued her youth ended up winning her over. Her parents and the people around them (writers, singers and poets, including Alain Peters, along with the musicians in her father’s group, Ziskakan, one of the leading groups on the Réunion scene) gradually nurtured her imagination and sensibility. And in turn she finally took hold of the Creole language and of maloya, the traditional musical style of her native island, Réunion.

She had to go away in order to come back all the stronger: in 2006, she headed to Montpellier, in southern France, for studies in cultural mediation. Her physical distance added to her desire to turn the spotlight on Creole, a language that was long suppressed but defended by artists, in particular by her parents, who had always militated for its recognition. She made her stage debut and finally returned to live in Réunion, now knowing her path in life. She added the second given name Kamaty, to follow Maya, and founded her current group, whose songs gracefully mix maloya and contemporary folk.

She brought out her first album, Santié Papang, with songs in Creole as well as in French (the two tracks written by Mauritian poet Michel Ducasse), an album with traditional instruments embracing acoustic music and lyrics filled with history and imagination.

But now Maya Kamaty has chosen to leave aside the acoustics of this initial album and to alter her music profoundly: “It would have been too easy to redo Santié Papang. I need to expose myself to danger, to take risks.”

Maya Kamaty and her crew have found the right balance between organic and electronic. Their reinvented maloya no longer belongs only to Réunion but to the world as a whole. Be that as it may, the emotion remains in the pulsation, the messages in the images, the living strength of the Creole language.

With a second album, produced by Victor-Attila Vagh (who also worked with Flavia Coelho), comes a time for confirmation – or affirmation. With Pandiyé, this “woman, artist, Creole, daughter of …, woke and obstinate,” in her own words, found the sound that could carry her powerful voice – a voice that can blow cool or warm, capable of every variation. And it is with undisguised pleasure that she demonstrates this on stage.

Let it be said: Maya Kamaty is determined to carry far and wide the richness of her island’s sounds and to bring out today’s Creole word and soul in song, in her own way.

Maya Kamaty
Île de la Réunion
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Musique réunionnaise, jazz, maloya
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Maya Kamaty

Biographie :

Lorsqu’elle était adolescente, Maya Kamaty (qui s’appelait alors Maya Pounia) n’envisageait pas de devenir chanteuse, bien qu’elle ait été élevée par un père musicien et une mère conteuse. Et pourtant, cet univers musical et poétique qui a tant imprégné sa jeunesse a fini par la gagner. Ses parents et leur entourage (des écrivains, des chanteurs et des poètes, dont Alain Peters, ou les musiciens du groupe de son père, Ziskakan, l’un des groupes phares de la scène réunionnaise) ont nourri peu à peu son imaginaire et sa sensibilité. Et elle s’est finalement emparée à son tour de la langue créole et du Maloya, la musique traditionnelle de la Réunion, son île natale.

 

Il lui faut partir pour mieux revenir : en 2006, elle s’envole vers Montpellier, dans le sud de la France, pour des études en médiation culturelle. Son éloignement contribue à son envie de mettre en valeur le créole, une langue longtemps brimée mais fièrement défendue par les artistes – notamment ses parents, qui ont toujours milité pour sa reconnaissance. Elle fait ses débuts sur scène et retourne finalement vivre à la Réunion, sachant désormais quelle est sa voie. Elle ajoute le second prénom Kamaty à la suite de Maya, et fonde son groupe actuel, dont les chansons mêlent avec grâce Maloya et folk contemporain.

 

Elle sort son premier album, Santié Papang, composé de chansons en créole mais aussi en français (les deux titres écrits par le poète mauricien Michel Ducasse). Un album où les instruments traditionnels épousent la musique acoustique, et dont les textes sont chargés d’histoire comme d’imaginaire.

 

Aujourd’hui pourtant, Maya Kamaty choisi de délaisser l’acoustique de ce premier opus et de faire évoluer en profondeur sa musique : «Cela aurait été trop facile de refaire Santié Papang, j’ai besoin de me mettre en danger, de prendre des risques».

 

Maya Kamaty et sa clique ont trouvé le juste équilibre entre l’organique et l’électronique. Leur maloya réinventé n’appartient plus seulement à La Réunion, mais au monde. Il n’empêche : l’émotion reste dans la pulsation, les messages dans les images, force vive de la langue créole.

 

Avec un deuxième album, réalisé par Victor-Attila Vagh (Flavia Coelho), parvient le temps de la confirmation, on dira ici de l’affirmation. Avec Pandiyé, cette « femme, artiste, créole, fille de…, conscientisée et obstinée », selon ses propres termes, a trouvé le son à même de porter sa voix puissante. Une voix de brise ou de braise, capable de toutes les variations. Et c’est avec un plaisir non dissimulé qu’elle en fait sur scène la démonstration.

 

Qu’on se le dise : Maya Kamaty est bien décidée à porter loin la richesse des sonorités de son île et à faire chanter, à sa façon, le verbe et l’âme créole actuels.

Maya Kamaty
Île de la Réunion
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Musique réunionnaise, jazz, maloya
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !