Menu
The best of world music

Paul Beaubrun

Biography :

 

Born into a family of artists in Port-au-Prince, Paul Beaubrun was predestined for a career in music. His parents, Manzè and Lòlò, were the singers in the roots musical group Boukman Eksperyans, whose album Vodjou Adje was a hit in the United States, even being nominated for a Grammy Award in 1991.

After his early days in Haiti in 2006 with his reggae roots group Zing Eksperyans and numerous tours with his parents, the singer and guitarist nicknamed T-Paul had to flee Haiti due to political instability and violence in Port-au-Prince. He moved in with his aunt in New York, where he pursued his career in music as well as in social struggles.

He joined the organization Artists for Peace and Justice (APJ), becoming an important link in their mission for justice and peace in the world. He is currently collaborating with Jackson Browne and several other artists, among them Jon Russell (The Head and the Heart), Jonathan Wilson, Habib Koite, Jenny Lewis and Raul Rodriguez, on an album for APJ.

In the United States and Canada, the singer with his long dreadlocks performs with well known artists including Lauryn Hill, Maxwell and Arcade Fire. In 2011, Paul Beaubrun received a prestigious UNESCO-Aschberg residence bursary in Montréal, where he took part in the Festival de Musique Multi-Montréal. He launched his first album, Haiti Project, in 2012 with his group Zing Experience. His second album, Vilnerab, came out in 2015 and soon topped the charts in the world music category on iTunes.

Nearly 30 years after Boukman Eksperyans, it was the turn of T-Paul Beaubrun to be nominated for a Grammy Award for his third album, Ayibobo, in the “best world music album” category. Released in May 2018 on the American label Ropeadope Records, Ayibobo is a tribute to his mother and to the resilience of his native country despite its many hardships. He recounts his experiences in the United States after leaving Haiti at age 17. The album’s title means blessing; it is a message of welcome and protection.

The album has 11 tracks sung in Creole, French and English, moving between rock, blues, soul and reggae, but always with a roots approach. Cuban singer Yilian Canizares is featured in the song “Marasa Elou.” With Ayibobo, Paul Beaubrun expresses his love and gratitude for his country and his community.

 

Paul Beaubrun
Haïti
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Blues, jazz, reggae, soul, R&B

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Paul Beaubrun

Biographie :

Né dans une famille d’artistes à Port-au-Prince, Paul Beaubrun était prédestiné à faire carrière en musique. Ses parents, Manzè et Lòlò, sont les chanteurs du groupe de musique « rasin » (racine) Boukman Eksperyans, dont l’album Vodjou Adje a fait un grand succès aux États-Unis, au point d’être nominé aux Grammy Awards en 1991.

 

Après ses débuts en Haïti en 2006 avec son groupe de reggae roots Zing Eksperyans et de multiples tournées avec ses parents, le chanteur et guitariste que l’on surnomme T-Paul doit fuir Haïti en raison de l’instabilité politique et de la violence à Port-au-Prince. Il s’installe chez sa tante à New York, où il poursuit sa carrière dans la musique ainsi que dans des luttes sociales.

 

Il s’associe à l’organisation Artists for Justice and Peace (APJ), devenant un maillon important dans leur mission pour la justice et la paix dans le monde. Actuellement, il travaille en collaboration avec Jackson Browne et plusieurs autres artistes, dont Jon Russell (The Head and the Heart), Jonathan Wilson, Habib Koite, Jenny Lewis et Raul Rodriguez, sur un prochain album pour APJ.

 

Aux États-Unis et au Canada, le chanteur aux longues dreadlocks joue avec de nombreux artistes reconnus tels que Lauryn Hill, Maxwell ou Arcade Fire. En 2011, Paul Beaubrun bénéficie de la prestigieuse bourse de résidence UNESCO-Aschberg à Montréal, où il participe au Festival de Musique Multi-Montréal. Il lance son premier album, Haiti Project en 2012 avec son groupe Zing Experience. Son deuxième opus, “Vilnerab”, sort en 2015 et devient rapidement #1 dans la catégorie de musique du monde sur iTunes.

 

Presque 30 ans après Boukman Eksperyans, c’est au tour de T-Paul Beaubrun d’être nominé aux Grammy Awards pour son troisième album, Ayibobo, dans la catégorie “Best World music Album”. Sorti en mai 2018 sous le label américain Ropeadope Records, Ayibobo est un hommage à sa mère et à la résilience de son pays natal malgré les difficultés. Il y raconte son vécu aux États-Unis après son départ d’Haïti à l’âge de 17 ans. Le titre de l’album signifie bénédiction ; c’est un message de bienvenue et de protection.

 

L’album comporte 11 morceaux chantés en créole, français et anglais évoluant entre le rock, le blues, le soul et le reggae, mais toujours avec une approche roots (racine). La chanteuse cubaine Yilian Canizares chante en featuring sur la chanson Marasa Elou. Avec Ayibobo, Paul Beaubrun exprime son amour et sa gratitude pour son pays et sa communauté.

Paul Beaubrun
Haïti
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Blues, jazz, reggae, soul, R&B

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !