Menu
The best of world music

Shauit & Wachmnhit

Biography :

 

Shauit

 

The world’s first Innu reggae artist comes from the Maliotenam reserve east of Sept-îles, in northeast Québec. Shauit actually grew up in New Brunswick. His mother tongue is French, and he learned the Innu language only later, because he wanted to. He was around 12 years old when, upon discovering the very popular group Kashtin at the Innu Nikamu festival in Maliotenam, he decided to move closer to his indigenous roots. His father bought him a guitar, and he learned Innu to sing in his ancestral language and to reconnect with his people.

 

Shauit first became known in 2007 when he collaborated on the hit track “Les Nomades” with his Algonquin friend, the rapper Samian. He identified with dancehall, a sunny musical genre that nevertheless speaks of poverty and violence. His first eponymous mini-album, which appeared in 2016, speaks mostly of celebration, but his second work, “Apu Peikussiaku,” issued in 2017, has a more spiritual tone and bears a message of peace and environmental preservation.

 

Shauit, whose real name is Jean-Eudes Bourdages Aster, is a seeker of identity and, as such, has made himself the voice of many young indigenous people caught between two cultures. His initiative and success provide an example for new generations to follow, because the young people are speaking French more, and the Innu language is headed for extinction. As a person of mixed race, this singer-songwriter has set himself the mandate of reconciling communities. He writes lyrics filled with positive messages in Innu, French, English and even Creole, with the hope of making a difference in the lives of those who listen to him.

 

Strongly inspired by his Innu roots and traditional music, he blends various popular genres (folk, country, rock, reggae, etc.) and offers honest and committed songs, filled with emotion and personal experience. A proud representative of indigenous culture, Shauit won the award for “best North American indigenous language album” at the Indigenous Music Awards in May 2018 as well as the indigenous songwriter of the year award at the 14th Canadian Folk Music Awards. After performing in North America and Europe, Shauit has achieved a broader international reach, with shows in Japan, Korea and Chile.

Wachmnhhit

 

Formed in 2005 around a common passion for reggae, Wachmnhit consists of seven Moroccan musicians who chose roots reggae to express their experiences, the contradictions of their society and the troubles of their generation.
Despite a prevailing conservatism, Wachmnhit manages to get its dissenting lyrics heard on stages in Essaouira, Casablanca and Rabat and to make the voice of the people known through their Moroccan reggae.

Inspired by Bob Marley, Alpha Blondy, Burning Spear and the Gnawa music groups whose style they adopt, the message from these young musicians obviously rings true, because in 2006 they won first prize among new-generation musicians in the “Boulevard des jeunes musiciens” in Casablanca. This encouraged them to work on their first self-produced album, Hit Wachmnhit, released in 2009.

With cultural blending in mind, Wachmnhitt mixes blues, jazz, ska, Latino and other musical styles. The group, which emerged from the music workshop of Ibn Tofaïl University in Kénitra, consists of singer and composer Ouahid Ahmed, backed by the guitars of Amine Souikra and Ali Ouguerd with their desert blues tones, the bass of Faycal Boudli, the keyboards of Amine Sylani, the percussions of Anas Khihel and the drums of Salim Akki.

Shauit & Wachmnhit
Innu - Qc. - Maroc
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Reggae
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Shauit & Wachmnhit

Biographie :

 

Shauit

 

Le premier reggaeman innu est originaire de la réserve de Maliotenam à l’est de Sept-îles, dans le nord-est du Québec. En fait, Shauit a grandi au Nouveau-Brunswick. Sa première langue est le français et il n’a appris la langue innue que plus tard, parce qu’il l’a voulu. C’est vers 12 ans, lorsqu’il a découvert le très populaire groupe Kashtin lors du festival Innu Nikamu de Maliotenam, qu’il décide de se rapprocher de ses origines autochtones. Son père lui achète une guitare et il apprend l’innu pour chanter dans sa langue maternelle et reconnecter avec les siens.

 

Shauit s’est d’abord fait connaître en 2007 lors de sa collaboration sur le titre à succès Les Nomades avec son ami algonquin, le rappeur Samian. Il s’identifie avec le dancehall, un genre de musique ensoleillé, mais qui parle de pauvreté et de violence. Son premier mini-album éponyme, paru en 2016, parle surtout de fête, mais son deuxième opus, lancé en 2017, Apu Peikussiaku, possède une touche plus spirituelle et porte un message de paix et de préservation de l’environnement.

 

De son vrai nom Jean-Eudes Bourdages Aster, Shauit est en quête d’identité et à ce titre, se fait le porte-parole de beaucoup de jeunes autochtones pris entre deux cultures. Son initiative et son succès représentent un exemple à suivre pour les nouvelles générations, car les jeunes parlent davantage le français et la langue innue est en voie d’extinction. Étant métis, l’auteur-compositeur-interprète s’est donné pour mandat de réconcilier les communautés. Il écrit des textes chargés de messages positifs en innu, en français, en anglais et même en créole, avec l’espoir de faire une différence dans la vie de ceux qui l’écoutent.

 

Fortement inspiré de ses racines innues et de la musique traditionnelle, il fusionne plusieurs genres populaires (folk, country, rock, reggae, etc.) et offre des chansons honnêtes, engagées remplies d’émotions et d’expériences personnelles. Fier représentant de la culture autochtone, Shauit a remporté en mai 2018 le prix du “meilleur album de l’année en langue autochtone en Amérique du Nord” aux Indigenous Music Awards, ainsi que le Prix de l’auteur-compositeur autochtone de l’année lors des 14e Prix de musique folk canadienne. Après avoir joué en Amérique du Nord et en Europe, Shauit rayonne à présent plus largement à l’international, avec des présentations au Japon, en Corée et au Chili.

 

Washmnhit

 

Formé en 2005 autour d’une passion commune pour le reggae, Wachmnhit est composé de sept musiciens marocains qui ont choisi le reggae roots pour exprimer leur vécu, les contradictions de leur société et les maux de leur génération.

 

Malgré le conservatisme ambiant, les Wachmnhit parviennent à faire entendre leurs textes contestataires sur les scènes d’Essaouira, Casablanca ou Rabat et font connaître la voix du peuple à travers leur reggae marocain.

Inspirés par Bob Marley, Alpha Blondy, Burning Spear, ou encore par les groupes de musique gnawa dont ils reprennent le style, le message des jeunes musiciens doit sonner juste, car ils remportent en 2006 le premier prix des musiciens de la relève, « Boulevard des jeunes musiciens », à Casablanca. Cela les encourage à se lancer dans la préparation de leur premier album auto-produit, Hit WachMn’Hit, sorti en 2009.

Avec pour maître mot le métissage culturel, Wachmnhit fusionne, blues, jazz, ska, latino ainsi que d’autres styles musicaux. Le groupe, issu de l’atelier de musique de l’Université Ibn Tofaïl de Kénitra, est composé du chanteur et compositeur Ouahid Ahmed, avec l’appui des guitares aux tonalités blues du désert d’Amine Souikra et d’Ali Ouguerd, la basse de Faycal Boudli, les claviers d’Amine Sylani, les percussions d’Anas Khihel et la batterie de Salim Akki.

Shauit & Wachmnhit
Innu - Qc. - Maroc
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Reggae
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !