Menu
The best of world music

Songhoy Blues

Biography :

The year is 2012. A radical Islamist group overruns northern Mali and establishes sharia law, prohibiting drinking and smoking as well as playing or possessing musical instruments. Guitarist Garba Touré packs his bags and leaves Timbuktu to seek refuge in the capital, Bamako. There he meets singer Aliou Touré, bass player Oumar Touré and percussionist Nathanael Dembélé. Although not related – Touré is the most common surname in Mali – they share the same Songhai origins and play desert blues for a refugee community that, like them, had to leave the northern part of the country. Songhoy Blues is born.

 

 

September 2013. As part of the Africa Express project initiated by Blur singer Damon Albarn, Songhoy Blues records a track with the guitarist of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Nick Zinner. “Soubour” (Patience) comes out on the Africa Express compilation and becomes such a hit that Zinner produces their first album, Music in Exile, distributed in North America in 2015.

 

 

The four companions leave their small room in Bamako and head out to conquer western stages. From London to New York, not to mention Byron, Australia, spectators discover Malian rock and roll. Songhoy Blues is acclaimed by critics and transcends the limits of world music. They also appear in the documentary film “They will have to kill us first,” recounting the resistance of Malian musicians to extremist groups.

 

 

Appropriately, Résistance is the title of the second Songhoy Blues album, recorded in 2017 in London. The traditional influences of desert blues are still there, but the guitars are even more energetic, and the orchestration includes brass and keyboard instruments together with the collaboration of various western artists, among them Iggy Pop (“Sahara”), London grime MC Elf Kid (“Mali North”) and American violinist William Harvey (“Hometown”). The album, with a clearly political message, ends with a children’s choir (“One colour”). Singer Aliou explains that we have to learn from children, who play together without worrying about their origins or their religion. “Together, we can,” they sing, recalling another political message that, already, sometimes seems far away.

 

Songhoy Blues
Mali
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Songhoy Blues

Biographie :

2012. Un groupe islamiste radical envahit le Nord du Mali et instaure la charia, avec interdiction de boire, de fumer, mais aussi de jouer ou de posséder des instruments de musique. Le guitariste Garba Touré fait ses valises et quitte Tombouctou pour se réfugier dans la capitale, Bamako. C’est là qu’il rencontre le chanteur Aliou Touré, le bassiste Oumar Touré et le percussionniste Nathanael Dembélé. Bien qu’ils n’ont pas de lien de parenté – Touré est le patronyme le plus usité au Mali – ils partagent la même origine songhaï et jouent le blues du désert pour la communauté de réfugiés qui comme eux, ont dû quitter le nord du pays. Songhoy Blues est né.

 

Septembre 2013. Dans le cadre du projet Africa Express initié par le chanteur de Blur, Damon Albarn, Songhoy Blues enregistre un titre avec le guitariste des Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Nick Zinner. “Soubour” (Patience) paraît sur la compilation Africa Express et remporte un tel succès que Zinner produit leur premier album, Music in Exile, distribué en Amérique du Nord en 2015.

 

Les quatre comparses quittent leur petite chambre de Bamako et partent à la conquête des scènes occidentales. De Londres à New York en passant par Byron en Australie, les spectateurs découvrent le rock’n roll malien. Songhoy Blues est encensé par la critique et transcende les limites de la “world music”. Ils figurent également dans le documentaire “They will have to kill us first”, qui raconte la résistance des musiciens maliens face aux groupes extrémistes.

 

“Résistance”, c’est justement le titre du deuxième album de Songhoy Blues, enregistré en 2017 à Londres. Les influences traditionnelles du blues du désert sont toujours là, mais les guitares sont encore plus énergiques et l’orchestration inclut des cuivres et des claviers et la collaboration de nombreux artistes occidentaux, dont Iggy Pop (“Sahara”), le MC grime londonien Elf Kid (“Mali Nord”) et le violoniste américain William Harvey (“Hometown”). L’album, dont le message est clairement politique, se termine sur un chœur d’enfants (“One colour”). Le chanteur Aliou explique que nous devons apprendre des enfants, qui jouent tous ensemble sans se préoccuper de leurs origines ou de leur religion. “Ensemble, nous pouvons”, chantent-ils, rappelant un autre message politique qui semble parfois déjà loin.

 

Songhoy Blues
Mali
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !