Menu
The best of world music

Systema Solar

Biography :

More than a decade has gone by since Systema Solar began gravitating around the rhythmic and psychedelic worlds that prompt revellers to dance at the world’s top festivals. Whether at Sziget in Hungary, South by Southwest (SXSW) in Austin, the Paléo Festival in Switzerland or Vieilles Charrues in France, Systema Solar has brought the festive atmosphere of the “picos,” the sound systems of Barranquilla, to western shores.

 

Full of joy and contagious energy, performances by Systema Solar provide a powerful echo of Carnival on Colombia’s Caribbean coast, blending the swaying beats of cumbia, raggamuffin, hip-hop and electro. With crazy costumes and colourful sets, the seven musicians break barriers and taboos.

 

The group has grown over the years, but at the core are French visual artist Vanessa Gocksch, a pioneer of the VJ scene in Colombia, and Colombian producer and sound engineer Juan Carlos Pellegrino, who has worked in Paris with the Daft Punk label. Singers John Primera and Walter Hernandez are backed by techno DJ Daniel Broderick, the scratches of Arturo Corpas and the percussions of Andrés Gutiérrez.

 

Systema Solar emerged on the occasion of the opening show of the 2007 Medellin Biennale of Art, when Vanessa “Pata de Perro” Gocksch, invited to perform as a VJ, suggested staging the show with a complete group. She puts together a collective for the occasion, improvising a repertory based on varied contributions from her back-ups. This spirit of improvisation in joy and creative freedom nurtured the group’s subsequent concerts and albums, starting with the eponymous album Systema Solar (2009).

 

In 2012, the Systema Solar track “Quién es el patrón?” was part of the soundtrack of the Oliver Stone film Savages, and in 2013 the group recorded two songs with Blondie, “Sugar on the Side” and “Artificial.” The voice of Debbie Harry can be heard in Spanish on their second album, La Revancha Del Burro (2014).

 

Their latest album, Rumbo A Tierra (2016), reflects their environmental concerns, in particular the tracks “Agauzero,” which talks about drought, and “Somos La Tierra,” which criticizes mining projects in Cajarmarca. Touring in Latin America in early 2019 with the Colombian group Bomba Estéreo, together they launched the track “Carnavalera” in March 2019, celebrating the Barranquilla street carnival.

Systema Solar
Colombie
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Cumbia, raggamuffin, hip hop, électro

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Systema Solar

Biographie :

Cela fait plus de dix ans que Systema Solar gravite autour des univers rythmiques et psychédéliques qui font danser les fêtards des plus grands festivals du monde. Que ce soit à Sziget en Hongrie, au Festival South by Southwest à Austin (SXSW), au Paléo en Suisse ou aux Vieilles Charrues en France, Systema Solar amène l’ambiance festive des “pikos”, les sound systems de Barranquilla, dans les contrées occidentales.

 

Pleins de joie et d’énergie contagieuse, les spectacles de Systema Solar sont à l’image du Carnaval sur la côte colombienne des Caraïbes et mélangent les rythmes chaloupés de cumbia, de raggamuffin, de hip hop et d’électro. Toujours habillés dans des costumes déjantés et dans des décors hauts en couleur, les sept musiciens font exploser les barrières et les tabous.

 

Le groupe s’est élargi au fil des ans, mais à la base, il y a l’artiste visuelle française Vanessa Gocksch, pionnière de la scène VJ en Colombie, et le producteur et ingénieur du son colombien Juan Carlos Pellegrino, qui a déjà travaillé à Paris avec le label de Daft Punk. Les deux chanteurs John Primera et Walter Hernandez sont appuyés par le DJ de techno Daniel Broderick, les scratches d’Arturo Corpas et les percussions d’André Gutiérrez.

 

Systema Solar est né à l’occasion du spectacle d’ouverture de la biennale d’art de Medellin en 2007, quand Vanessa “Pata de perro” Gocksch, invitée à se produire comme VJ, a proposé de se présenter avec un groupe complet et a monté un collectif pour l’occasion, improvisant un répertoire à partir des apports variés de ses comparses de fête. Cet esprit d’improvisation dans la joie et la liberté créatrice nourrit les concerts et les albums subséquents du groupe, à commencer par l’album éponyme “Systema Solar” (2009).

 

En 2012, le titre “Quién es el patrón?” de Systema Solar fait partie de la bande sonore du film “Savages” d’Oliver Stone, et en 2013, le groupe enregistre deux chansons avec Blondie : “Sugar On The Side” et “Artificial”. La voix de Debbie Harry apparaît donc en espagnol sur leur deuxième album, “La Revancha Del Burro” (2014).

 

Leur dernier album, “Rumbo A Tierra” (2016) démontre leur préoccupation environnementale, notamment avec les titres “Agauzero”, qui parle de la sécheresse, et “Somos La Tierra”, qui critique les projets miniers à Cajarmarca. En tournée en Amérique latine début 2019 avec le groupe colombien Bomba Estéreo, ils lancent ensemble en mars 2019 le titre “Carnavalera” qui célèbre le carnaval de rue de Barranquilla.

Systema Solar
Colombie
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Cumbia, raggamuffin, hip hop, électro
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !