Menu
The best of world music

Valérie Ékoumè

Biography :

Faya is the nickname her family gave little Valérie Ékoumè. It is also the first track on her second album, which creates vibration among the shimmering colours of the Cameroon of her childhood and gets people dancing to rumba, makossa, bikutsi, esséwé and other beats.

 

With an aunt who was a backup singer for Salif Keita, an uncle who was a band leader and another who was a bass player, Valérie Ékoumè fell into music at an early age, and singing became almost obvious.

 

A childhood split between France and Cameroon enabled her to draw upon various musical sources, with a variety of languages and moods that left their mark on her. As a teenager, she imitated Miriam Makeba and Whitney Houston, a headset glued to her ears. In her roots, makossa thus blended with American pop.

 

For many years a backup singer for saxophonist Manu Dibango, a Cameroonian compatriot, she also sought more formal training at a jazz school in Paris, to be even more in tune with her musicians.

 

Appearing on stage for a decade-and-a-half as a backup singer with a range of artists including Coco Mbassi, Youssou Ndour, MC Solaar, Maceo Parker, Kofi Olomide and Passi, she gradually built a team to launch her solo career.

 

In 2015, she issued her first album, Djaale (“Let’s go” in Duala, a language of the Cameroonian coast), with the collaboration of drummer-percussionist Guy Nwogang and the participation of renowned musicians including Mario Canonge, a pianist from Martinique, and Nate Watts, Stevie Wonder’s bass player.

 

Again on the theme of sharing and of love, Valérie Ékoumè was back soon with a second album, Kwin na Kinguè, a contraction of queen and king.

 

The album’s eponymous song describes feelings of both regret and frustration. Marked by great humanity, this Afro-pop disc narrates, in Lingala and Douala, tales of love, immigration and inclusion.

Valérie Ékoumè
Cameroun
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Afro-pop
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Valérie Ékoumè

Biographie :

Faya, c’est le surnom que sa famille donnait à la petite Valérie Ékoumè. C’est aussi le premier titre de son deuxième album, qui fait vibrer les couleurs chatoyantes du Cameroun de son enfance, et fait danser sur des rythmes de rumba, makossa, bikutsi, esséwé…

Avec une tante choriste pour Salif Keita, un oncle chef d’orchestre et un autre bassiste, Valérie Ékoumè est tombée dans la musique quand elle était petite, alors chanter était en quelque sorte une évidence.

Son enfance partagée entre la France et le Cameroun lui a permis de puiser à différentes sources musicales, avec une variété de langues et d’ambiances qui l’ont profondément marquée. Ado, elle imitait Miriam Makeba et Whitney Houston, casque vissé sur les oreilles. Dans ses racines, donc, le makossa se mélange à la pop américaine.

Choriste pendant de nombreuses années pour son compatriote camerounais, le saxophoniste Manu Dibango, elle va aussi chercher une formation plus formelle dans un école de jazz à Paris, pour être encore plus au diapason de ses musiciens.

Écumant les scènes pendant une bonne quinzaine d’années en tant que choriste avec une variété d’artistes afro comme Coco Mbassi, Youssou Ndour, MC Solaar, Maceo Parker, Kofi Olomide ou Passi, elle se constitue peu à peu une équipe pour lancer sa carrière solo.

En 2015, elle sort son premier album “Djaale” (Allons-y! en douala, langue de la région côtière du Cameroun), fruit d’une collaboration avec le batteur-percussionniste Guy Nwogang, avec la participation de musiciens de renom tels que le pianiste martiniquais Mario Canonge et Nate Watts, le bassiste de Stevie Wonder.

Toujours sur le thème du partage et de l’amour, Valérie Ékoumè enchaîne rapidement avec un deuxième opus, “Kwin na Kinguè”, contraction de “Queen (reine)” et de “King (roi).”
La chanson éponyme de l’album décrit les sentiments de regret et de frustration à la fois. Empreint d’une grande humanité, le disque afropop parle notamment, en lingala et en douala, d’histoires d’amour, d’immigration et d’inclusion.

Valérie Ékoumè
Cameroun
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Afro-pop

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !