Menu
The best of world music

Wesli

Biography :

 

Born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Wesli (Wesley Louissaint) built his own guitar at age 8, using bits of oil drums from NGOs along with nylon fishing rope. One of seven children in a family where music nurtured everyday life, it became second nature, an escape from the prevailing misery.

Wesli’s musical adventure began with the gospel choir at the local church, and he took up the guitar as his main instrument. He became involved in groups such as the Afro-roots quartet Jazz 4ever and SoKute. Already performing on several stages in Haiti, he set out for concerts abroad with the Kreyol Mizik outfit. With SoKute, he recorded the album Horizon, a bit hit in their home country and the beginnings of international recognition.

In 2001, Wesli settled in Montréal, working at various festivals (Productions Nuits d’Afrique, Francofolies, Montréal International Jazz Festival) and performing regularly with his group on various stages across Canada. He also played as a guitarist for well known names in Caribbean music as well as for several Montréal artists (Lorraine Klaasen, Lilison Di Kinara, Gage, Inword, Nathalie Choquette).

His first album as a solo artist, Kouraj, won critical and public acclaim in 2009. This would be followed by Liberté dans le noir in 2011 and then two albums in 2015, Immigrand and Ayiti étoile nouvelle. In 2018, he brought out his latest album, Rapadou Kréyol, which is distributed worldwide on the Cumbancha label and which won the 2019 Juno award for World Music album of the year.

 

In acoustic form (guitar, vocals, percussion) or with his big band, Wesli delivers a musical style that is festive, original and captivating. He immediately conquers his audience with committed lyrics set to complex arrangements. Critics have called him “the most awesome world music creature currently offered by Montréal to the rest of the planet” (Alain Brunet, La Presse).

Wesli
Haïti - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Afro-electro
Listen

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu
Festival Nuits d'Afrique
Le meilleur de la musique du monde !

Wesli

Biographie :

Né à Port-au-Prince, Haïti, Wesli (Wesley Louissaint) a lui-même construit sa propre guitare à 8 ans à partir de morceaux de bidons d’huile provenant des ONG et de cordes de pêche en nylon. Membre d’une famille de 7 enfants où la musique alimente le quotidien, celle-ci est devenue une seconde nature, une échappatoire à la misère qu’il côtoie.

 

L’aventure musicale de Wesli débute dans la chorale “gospel” de l’église locale et adopte la guitare comme instrument principal. Il commence à s’impliquer dans des groupes comme le quator d’afro-roots Jazz 4ever et SoKute. Alors qu’il joue déjà sur plusieurs scènes en Haïti, il s’envole faire des concerts à l’étranger avec la compagnie Kreyol Mizik. Avec SoKute, il enregistre l’album Horizon, qui leur vaut un grand succès dans leur pays et un début de reconnaissance internationale.

 

En 2001, Wesli vient vivre à Montréal, travaille au sein de divers festivals (les Productions Nuits d’Afrique, les Francofolies et le Festival international de Jazz de Montréal) et se produit régulièrement avec son groupe sur de nombreuses scènes au Canada. Il joue également comme guitariste pour des noms connus de la musique des Antilles ainsi que pour plusieurs artistes de Montréal (Lorraine Klaasen, Lilison Di Kinara, Gage, Inword, Nathalie Choquette).

 

Son premier album en tant qu’artiste solo, Kouraj, est salué par la critique et le public en 2009. Il sera suivi par Liberté dans le noir fin 2011, puis par deux albums parus la même année, Immigrand et Ayiti étoile nouvelle en 2015. En 2018 il sort son dernier album “Rapadou Kréyol” qui sera distribué mondialement par le label Cumbancha et remporte le Juno album Musique du Monde de l’année 2019.
En formation acoustique (guitare, voix, percussion) ou avec son big band, Wesli livre une musique riche, à la fois festive, originale et entraînante. Il conquit immédiatement son public avec des arrangements complexes sur des textes engagés. Les critiques l’ont d’ailleurs sacré “la plus redoutable créature world qu’offre actuellement Montréal au reste de la planète” (Alain Brunet, journal La Presse.

 

Wesli
Haïti - Qc.
Festival International Nuits d'Afrique
Afro-electro
Écouter

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !