Menu

Dakka Dembelé

Born in Côte d’Ivoire from Malian parents, Dakka Dembélé began his career with his friend Gounga. They soon developed a fascination for reggae, to which they added Mandinka sounds from their cultural roots.

 

As they were preparing to bring out their first album in 2002, in Abidjan, the two companions were forced into exile in Mali for social and political reasons. There they met Tiken Jah Fakoly, who served as an inspiration and motivation for the continuation of their careers. 

 

In 2007, Dakka decided to go solo. That would lead him to Québec, where he settled and returned to his initial trade, opening his own shoemaking shop. He makes a living from this work while continuing to develop his passion for music. In tune with the richness and diversity of Montréal’s cultural life, he was on stage in 2013, at the Festival International Nuits d’Afrique, Syli d’Or, Atmosph’air and the Jardins Gamelins, among other settings. During this same period, he undertook collaborations with many local musicians, including Abdoulaye Koné, The Rootsteppers, David Mobio, Namori, Ons Barnat and Solid Ground. 

 

In 2018, he crossed paths with Apotcho Strong and Guy Kaye. This decisive encounter led to a début album, Petit bateau, released on line on March 13, 2020, on the Disques Nuits d’Afrique label. At the crossroads of African and Québec cultures, this rich and captivating work benefits from the contribution of each of the collaborators. 

 

Dakka Dembélé’s sound has very clearly found an echo in the city, which now regards him as the ambassador of reggae in Montréal. The stage of the Révélations series will provide the perfect opportunity for presenting Petit bateau to its future fans!

Dakka Dembelé
Côte d'Ivoire - Québec

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu

Dakka Dembelé

Né en Côte d’Ivoire de parents maliens, Dakka Dembélé débute sa carrière avec son ami Gounga. Très vite, ils sont fascinés par la musique reggae à laquelle ils intègrent des sonorités mandingues émanant de leurs racines culturelles.

 

Alors qu’ils sont sur le point de sortir leur premier album en 2002, à Abidjan, les deux compères sont contraints à l’exil au Mali pour des raisons sociopolitiques. C’est là qu’ils font la rencontre de Tiken Jah Fakoly qui leur sert d’inspiration et de motivation pour la poursuite de leur carrière.

 

En 2007, Dakka décide de poursuivre sa route en solo. Celle-ci le conduira au Québec où il s’installe et fait d’abord revivre son 1er métier en ouvrant sa propre cordonnerie. Il vit de ce métier tout en continuant à développer sa passion pour la musique. Loin d’être insensible à la richesse et la diversité de la culture montréalaise, il retrouve la scène à partir de 2013 : Festival International Nuits d’Afrique, Syli d’Or, Atmosph’air, Jardins Gamelins entre autres. C’est également à cette période qu’il enchaîne de nombreuses collaborations avec des musiciens locaux, dont Abdoulaye Koné, les Rootsteppers, David Mobio, Namori, Ons Barnat et Solid Ground. 

 

En 2018, il croise sur son chemin Apotcho Strong et Guy Kaye. De cette rencontre décisive naît un premier albumPetit bateaulancé en ligne le 13 mars 2020 sous le label Disques Nuits d’Afrique. Au croisement des cultures africaines et québécoises, cet opus riche et accrocheur bénéficie de l’apport de chacun des collaborateurs. 

 

Le son de Dakka Dembélé a définitivement trouvé un écho dans la métropole, qui le considère aujourd’hui comme l’ambassadeur du reggae à Montréal. La scène des Révélations sera l’occasion parfaite pour présenter Petit bateau à ses futurs nouveaux adeptes !

Dakka Dembelé
Côte d'Ivoire - Québec

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !