Webdiffusion

Topium

feat Djenmbi & Klod Kiavué

Topium emerged in 2016, from the meeting between multi-instrumentalist, Jérôme Dupuis-Cloutier, and drummer-programmer, Jonathan Gagné. Together the duo explores and blends house with various elements of jazz. Since its inception, the group has had several releases that include music videos. Their music has found captive audiences in many festivals worldwide, including on the island of Réunion, in Cape Verde, Mexico, and Tokyo. 

 

 

Jacques-Marie Basses (aka Djenmbi) is an accomplished and innovative singer-songwriter and keyboardist. He has earned the title of “Gwo Ka Keyboard Master”. Klod Kiavué is a well-known Gwo Ka percussionist who has performed all over the world, most notably with the American saxophonist and jazzman, David Murray. Basses and Kiavué are among Guadeloupe’s finest in the Gwo Ka music scene.

 

 


 

 

NEW SINGLE BO BAY LANMEN – February 12, 2021

 

The single, Bo Bay Lanmen, released under the Disques Nuits d’Afrique label, will be distributed worldwide on all digital platforms by Distribution Select on February 12, 2021. This single emerged out of a creative residency organized by Guadeloupe Electronik Groove and the collaboration, in 2019, between Quebec electro-Jazz duo, Topium, and veteran Gwo Ka musicians, Jacques-Marie Basses (aka DJENMBI) and Klod Kiavué. It breaks new ground by combining modern sounds with ancestral rhythms to create a fusion that they call Electro-Ka.

Bo Bay Lanmen, which means “lend a hand,” and its accompanying music video, was made in partnership with GEG/MusjoMusicRecords and produced by Guadeloupe’s Akadanfilm company, revealing the fruitful and authentic creative process experienced through Gwo Ka traditions and culture. This exceptional artistic alliance between Guadeloupean Creole and Québecois musicians led to the creation of the new and exciting rhythms of Electro-Ka.

Topium (ft Djenmbi & Klod Kiavué)
Guadeloupe, Qc
Electro-Ka

Webdiffusion

Topium

feat Djenmbi & Klod Kiavué

Topium est né en 2016, de la rencontre du multi-instrumentiste Jérôme Dupuis-Cloutier et du programmeur-batteur Jonathan Gagné. Ils explorent et fusionnent la musique house et certains éléments de jazz. Depuis sa création, le groupe a sorti plusieurs pièces accompagnées de vidéoclips. Leur musique a trouvé écho dans plusieurs festivals dans le monde, notamment à l’Île de la Réunion, Cap-Vert, Mexique, Tokyo, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.

Jacques-Marie Basses (alias Djenmbi) est un auteur-compositeur, claviériste et chanteur expérimenté et novateur. Il est surnommé « Le maître des claviers Gwoka ». Quant à Klod Kiavué, percussionniste et chanteur confirmé dans le milieu de la musique gwoka, il a joué dans le monde entier, notamment avec le saxophoniste et jazzman américain David Murray. Les deux artistes figurent parmi les musiciens les plus connus de la Guadeloupe dans le monde du Gwoka.

 


 

NOUVEAU SINGLE BO BAY LANMEN – 12 février 2021

Sous l’étiquette Disques Nuits d’Afrique, le single Bo Bay Lanmen, est distribué mondialement par Distribution Select sur toutes les plateformes numériques le 12 février 2021. Issu d’une résidence de création organisée par le Guadeloupe Electronik Groove  où se sont rencontrés en 2019 le duo québécois électro-jazz Topium et les vétérans du Gwoka Jacques-Marie Basses (alias DJENMBI) et Klod Kiavué, ce single collaboratif se démarque par ses sonorités modernes et rythmes ancestraux pour une fusion qu’ils ont eux-mêmes baptisée d’Électro-Ka.

Bo Bay Lanmen, signifiant « donne la main » est accompagné d’un vidéoclip, en partenariat avec le GEG/Musjomusicrecords et réalisé par l’entreprise guadeloupéenne Akadanfilm, qui illustre avec énergie l’expérience de cette création fructueuse et authentique vécue à travers les traditions et la culture du Gwoka. Cette passerelle artistique unique entre les musiciens Créoles  et Québécois a permis de créer ce rythme nouveau et entraînant, l’Électro-Ka.

Topium (ft Djenmbi & Klod Kiavué)
Guadeloupe, Qc
Electro-Ka