Webdiffusion

VIDEO CLIP

July 18, 2021 09:00:00
LIONEL KIZABA • Single Soso
LIONEL KIZABA • Single Soso

Lionel Kizaba • Soso

Disques Nuits d'Afrique / Believe

Artist's Album
2021
Buy

Kizaba returns to the Canadian world music scene with Soso, the first single from upcoming album Congolese Music.

 

Written and composed by Lionel Kizaba, Soso (chicken in Lingala) is an infectious midtempo summer song dripping with catchy hooks and funky inflections, a modern soundtrack for the ultra-fly Congolese subculture of sapologie. Inspired by the neighborhood in Kinshasa where lead singer Kizaba grew up, in the shadow of the legend of Papa Wemba, the song tells of a quarrel between two neighbours that is finally reconciled over a shared meal; an afrofuturist urban parable on the difficulties and rewards of living together.

 

Soso will be available on all digital platforms on July 23. Congolese Musique will be out in March 2022 on Les Disques Nuits d’Afrique.

 

 


 

BIOGRAPHY

 

 

Kizaba is a Congolese Afro-Electro group based in Montreal, Canada. The quartet is heavily influenced by the Congolese stylistic tradition of “Sapologie”. The group seeks to infuse contemporary afrobeats and electronic music with melodies and rhythms from Congolese traditions. It is the creation of musicians Lionel Kizaba alongside Pierre Belliveau from Quebec and features guitarist  Éric Kapiteni (Gamme Roz), formerly from the group Les Washiba . The live show features custom visuals made in partnership with Congolese plasticians from Ndakuy ya la vie est belle de matongé.

 

Growing up in Kinshasa, Lionel first began playing drums in church at the age of 5. He quickly became an in-demand musician with groups, including Jupiter & Okwess, Vodacom Superstar, and many others. He studied jazz at the National Institute of the Arts in Kinshasa, all while playing soukous in clubs after hours. After moving to Montreal in 2011, he quickly gain recognition as one of the best drummers in the Canadian world music scene, playing with groups including AfrotroniX, Mélisande [Électro-Trad],  Zab Maboungou, Sébastien Lacombe and others.

 

Kizaba launched its first album, Nzela, in 2016. It garnered numerous prizes at the local level and led to touring across Canada for the band. Kizaba is now working on its second album, Congolese Musique. Dancefloor heat for fans of Tony Allen, Chris David, and KOKOKO!

Webdiffusion

CLIP VIDÉO

July 18, 2021 03:00:00
LIONEL KIZABA • Single Soso
LIONEL KIZABA • Single Soso

Lionel Kizaba • Single Soso

Disques Nuits d'Afrique / Believe

Album artiste
2021

Kizaba revient sur la scène canadienne des musiques du monde avec Soso, le premier extrait de son prochain album Congolese Music, financé par conseil des arts du Canada.

 

Écrit et composé par Lionel Kizaba, Soso (poulet en lingala) est une chanson estivale mid tempo contagieuse qui regorge de mélodies accrocheuses et d’inflexions funky. Une bande-son moderne pour la sous-culture congolaise de la sapologie. Inspirée par le quartier de Kinshasa où le chanteur Kizaba a grandi, dans l’ombre de la légende de Papa Wemba, la chanson raconte une querelle entre deux voisins qui se réconcilie finalement autour d’un repas partagé ; une parabole urbaine afro futuriste sur les difficultés et les récompenses du vivre ensemble.

 

Soso est disponible sur toutes les plateformes numériques depuis le 23 juillet.

 

 

 


 

BIOGRAPHIE DE L’ARTISTE

 

 

Kizaba est un groupe afro-électro congolais basé à Montréal, au Canada. Le quartet est fortement influencé par la tradition stylistique congolaise de la “Sapologie”. Le groupe cherche à infuser les afrobeats contemporains et la musique électronique avec des mélodies et des rythmes issus des traditions congolaises. Il est la création du musicien Lionel Kizaba et comprend le réalisateur Québécois Pierre Belliveau et le Congolais guitariste Éric Kapiteni (Gamme Roz), anciennement du groupe les Washiba. Le spectacle live présente des visuels personnalisés réalisés en partenariat avec des plasticiens congolais de Ndakuy ya la vie est belle de matongé.

 

Ayant grandi à Kinshasa, Lionel a commencé à jouer de la batterie à l’église à l’âge de 5 ans. Il est rapidement devenu un musicien demandé par des groupes tels que Jazz Mobile de François Mantuila, Jupiter & Okwess, Les Washiba Vodacom Superstar de Akonix musique de Akon et bien d’autres. Il a étudié le jazz à l’Institut national des arts de Kinshasa formé par le professeur François Mantuila Nyomo, tout en jouant des soukous dans les clubs après les heures de travail. Après avoir déménagé à Montréal en 2011, il a rapidement été reconnu comme l’un des meilleurs batteurs de la scène canadienne de la musique du monde, jouant avec des groupes tels que AfrotroniX, Mélisande [Électro-Trad], Zab Maboungou, Sébastien Lacombe et d’autres.

 

Kizaba a lancé son premier album, Nzela, en 2016. Il a récolté de nombreux prix au niveau local et a conduit le groupe à effectuer une tournée à travers le Canada. Kizaba travaille actuellement sur son deuxième album, Congolese Music. Une chaleur de dancefloor pour les fans de Tony Allen, Chris David et KOKOKO !