Menu

Djely Tapa

Barokan

Djely Tapa • Barokan

Disques Nuits d'Afrique / Distribution Select

Artiste
2019
AFR2-2141
Buy

« Hail to you my ancestors! From time immemorial, the African Women is a symbol of strength, beauty and gentleness. She has always been, and she’s even more today. My veins full of Gnagarigassa (mandika warrior) energy. I am the future ! Proud of my identity, without complex, I explore the world with my scars as a passport.”

 

 

Tracks list

1. Future Tribe Art             2. Barokan                   3. Mandeguisa                      4. Pachagon                        5. Fasso                         6. Dya

7. Départ pour la Lune     8. Amafamu                 9. Home                               10. Djoudjonko                  11. Djiwo

 


 

Biography

 

Montreal’s African community has long welcomed young people who have thrived on the city’s stages. A daughter of griots, little Djely Tapa (whose real name is Sountougoumba Diarra) grew up with her grandmother in Kayes, a village in western Mali, while her mother, a singer and one of Mali’s great voices, focused on her career. She collaborated with the Orchestre de Paris, among others, and developed Mandinka tradition by blending it with modern instruments.

 

A convinced feminist, Djely Tapa walked resolutely in her mother’s footsteps and, in her work as a female griot and singer, defended the place of black women in a modern egalitarian world. When she left for Bamako at age 11, she embraced western culture and decided to pursue studies that she hardly imagined possible, given her social mission as a griot, which maintains ancestral values and culture and conveys the history of the Mandinka people through song, dance and traditional tales.

 

After earning a bachelor’s degree in science, she dreamed of becoming an airline pilot, and she settled in Montreal to study mechanical engineering and aeronautics at the École Polytechnique. Her dream did not come to fruition, and, since the African community lacked a female griot in Montreal, she felt the call of tradition and took up the mission inherited from her parents.

 

Well integrated in Québec society through her studies, she also linked up with the community of musicians, becoming involved with several groups, in particular with Zal Sissokho and the Cirque Kalabanté and as lead vocalist with the group Afrikana Soul Sisters.

 

After a decade on Montreal stages, Djely Tapa met her greatest friend and collaborator, Chadian artist Caleb Rimtobaye, former vocalist with the group H’Sao and now known as AfrotroniX. Named top African DJ in 2018, he shares with Djely Tapa the vision of a new African music that incorporates electronic styles and is carried by the tide of Afro-futurism.

 

Barokan, the singer’s first album, was produced by AfrotroniX on the Disques Nuits d’Afrique label and was released early in 2019 to immediate critical acclaim. The 11 songs, performed in the Mandinka, Bambara and Kassonke languages, pay tribute to the strength of African women and to youth, together with calls for the protection of water resources. The singer’s powerful voice is backed by auras of Sahel blues and electro sounds skilfully measured by AfrotoniX. The true essence of Mandinka Africa is revealed, with kora, guitar riffs and Malian percussions as well as female choirs.

 

Named 2019-2020 Radio-Canada Revelation in world music, Djely Tapa clearly has the makings of a great singer and is destined to become known far beyond Canada. On June 29, 2020, her album BAROKAN won the JUNO AWARD for Best Canadian Album of the Year in the World Music category.

 


 

 

Barokan – Official video clip

 

 

NEWSLETTER

Suscribre to our newsletter to receive information and exclusive offers on the Festival and concerts

Menu

Djely Tapa

Barokan

Djely Tapa • Barokan

Disques Nuits d'Afrique / Distribution Select

Album Artiste
2019
AFR2-2141

« Gloire à vous mes ancêtres ! Depuis la nuit des temps, la Femme africaine est synonyme de Force, de Beauté et de Douceur. Depuis toujours, et encore plus aujourd’hui. Mes veines chargées de l’énergie de Gnagarigassa (guerrière mandingue). Je suis le Futur ! Fière de mon identité, sans complexe, j’explore le monde avec comme passeport… mes Balafres. »

 

Listes des pistes

1. Future Tribe Art                2. Barokan                        3. Mandeguisa                  4. Pachagon                              5. Fasso                      6. Dya

7. Départ pour la Lune        8. Amafamu                      9. Home                            10. Djoudjonko                        11. Djiwo

 

 


 

 

Biographie

La communauté africaine de Montréal accueille depuis plusieurs décennies des jeunes qui prennent leur essor sur les scènes de la métropole québécoise. Fille de griots, la petite Djely Tapa (Sountougoumba Diarra de son vrai nom) a grandi avec sa grand-mère à Kayes, un village de l’ouest du Mali, pendant que sa mère cantatrice – une des plus grandes voix du Mali – se consacrait à sa carrière. Elle collaborait notamment avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Paris et faisait évoluer la tradition mandingue en la fusionnant avec des instruments modernes.

 

Féministe convaincue, Djely Tapa marche résolument sur les pas de sa mère et défend dans son travail de griotte et de chanteuse la place des femmes noires dans un monde moderne et égalitaire. Quand elle déménage à Bamako à 11 ans, elle embrasse la culture occidentale et décide de poursuivre des études, ce qu’elle n’imaginait pas possible étant donné sa mission sociale de griot, qui garde les valeurs et la culture ancestrale et transmet l’histoire du peuple mandingue à travers chants, danses et contes traditionnels.

 

Après un baccalauréat en sciences, elle rêve de devenir pilote d’avion et s’installe à Montréal pour étudier en génie mécanique et aéronautique à l’école Polytechnique. Son rêve n’aboutissant pas, et la communauté africaine n’ayant pas de griotte à Montréal, elle sent l’appel de la tradition et reprend la mission héritée de ses parents.

 

Pleinement intégrée à la société québécoise grâce à ses études, elle s’investit aussi au sein de la communauté de musiciens en s’impliquant dans plusieurs groupes, notamment avec Zal Sissokho, le cirque Kalabanté et comme chanteuse principale du groupe Afrikana Soul Sisters.

 

Après une dizaine d’années à fouler les planches des scènes montréalaises, Djely Tapa rencontre son plus grand ami et collaborateur, le tchadien Caleb Rimtobaye, ancien chanteur du groupe H’Sao et maintenant connu comme AfrotroniX. Sacré meilleur DJ africain en 2018, il partage avec Djely Tapa une même vision d’une nouvelle musique africaine intégrant les musiques électroniques et porté par le courant de l’afrofuturisme.

 

Réalisé par AfrotroniX, Barokan, le premier album de la chanteuse, sort début 2019 sous étiquette Disques Nuits d’Afrique et est immédiatement encensé par la critique. Les onze chansons interprétées en malinké, bambara et khassonké rendent hommage à la force des femmes noires, à la jeunesse et incitent à protéger les ressources en eau. La voix puissante de cette chanteuse est appuyée par des ambiances de blues sahélien et de sonorités électro savamment dosées par AfrotoniX. On y retrouve vraiment l’essence de l’Afrique mandingue, avec kora, riffs de guitares, et percussions maliennes et chœurs de voix féminines.

 

Consacrée Révélation Radio-Canada en musique du monde 2019-2020, Djely Tapa possède sans aucun doute l’étoffe des plus grandes chanteuses et est appelée à rayonner bien au-delà du Canada. Son album BAROKAN a remporté, le 29 juin 2020, le JUNO du meilleur album canadien de l’année, catégorie World Music.

 


 

 

Barokan – vidéo clip officiel

 

 

INFOLETTRE

Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre pour recevoir en premier les informations et offres exclusives du Festival et des concerts à l'année !