Webdiffusion

Jury members

Semi-finals and Gala final

The Syli d’Or de la Musique du Monde brings to light talented artists and confirms the latest trends in world music.

 

To determine the winners we are pleased to welcome members of a professional jury recognized for their career and their skills in the music industry at various levels (programmer, journalists …)

Please note that during the semi-finals and finals the public votes are combined with the professional jury’s evaluations.

 


 

Frédéric Cardin

Freelance journalist at Pan M 360, media specialized in music

 

Practically raised in his parents’ record store, Frédéric Cardin studied history and political science, but music caught up with him and never let him go. Journalist, host and producer for many years at Radio-Canada’s music channel, Frédéric is now a freelance journalist at Pan M 360, the best music site in Quebec (by far!). He works hard on a wide variety of musical genres, but his heart beats particularly for classical music (from all eras), epic film music, jazz, and all the “world music” (a hated term, but for lack of a more precise one, we’ll go with it). Added to this is a nasty bunch of alternative music (chamber rock, electro, post-punk, krautrock, indie whatever, etc.) and a bunch of vintage styles he never gets tired of (great French chanson, 70’s soul-funk, 70’s-80’s folk, classic afro-beat, Blaxploitation soundtracks, and so many others). Recently, Frédéric was rewarded with a position as Senior Advisor to the Department of Canadian Heritage. What does he do there? He gives money so that culture can be seen, heard and disseminated! Happiness. Frédéric has been a member of the jury at the Sylis d’or semi-finals several times in the past. Every time he is asked again, he says yes without hesitation. How can you refuse to have unlimited fun three nights in a row while sipping one or two great Volcan du Balattou cocktails? A little Bloody too, why not. His judgement skills are all the more sharpened. Long live music, and especially Montreal’s fabulous ”world” scene, one of the richest in America!

 

Jacob Edgar 

Music researcher for the Putumayo World Music label

 

Jacob Edgar is an Ethnomusicologist, music producer, and global explorer with an insatiable curiosity for the diverse ways in which people express themselves through music. Edgar is the principal music researcher for the acclaimed record label Putumayo World Music, contributing songs and liner notes to over 300 Putumayo collections. In 2006, Edgar founded the record label, music publisher and concert booking agency Cumbancha, which promotes some of the top names in international music. Edgar hosted Music Voyager, a music and travel television series produced for American Public Television & PBS. A regular guest lecturer and cultural specialist on National Geographic/Lindblad Expeditions cruises to West Africa, South America, the British Isles, Cape Verde, Iceland and many other destinations, Edgar curates musical experiences and concerts with world-renowned artists in intimate settings that provide a unique gateway into the culture, history, language, indeed the very soul of a community. Edgar’s journeys in search of new talent has brought him to remote Caribbean villages, trendy Parisian nightclubs, sultry Brazilian samba schools, rocking Indian jam sessions, the recording studios of Havana and beyond, providing him a backstage pass to the world’s music.

 

Carine Au Micro

Radio host at CKUT

 

Every week, Carine presents the show Basa Basa on CKUT Radio. Her show presents Africa as the heart and soul of world music, while delving into aspects of African life and culture: you can hear everything from politics, poetry, storytelling, food, and everything else related to African life on the show.

Carine au Micro is an artist from Benin. Her interest in music began at a young age through her parents.

Carine au Micro embarks on her solo adventure with her first EP in 2018. Entitled O LA SI, it is a rich record that oscillates between her different musical emotions: jazz, soul, gospel, r’n’b and of course, African music. His opus speaks of his connection with his home country, but also of love, between personal disappointments and optimistic vision of the future.

 


 

Grand Final Jury Members :

 

Christelle Onomo Lopes

Director Consultant-Trainer of Culture des Arts, the Institute

 

In parallel to her project Kreesoul music workshops, Christelle is a consultant and trainer in artistic, cultural and event management. Involved for 15 years with her artistic community, she founded Culture des arts Events and then Culture des Arts, l’Institut to support artists at the beginning of their careers and to help them strengthen their administrative and management skills.

She provides training in strategic planning (among others with Groupe 3737 for the Supporting Black Communities in Canada initiative), conducts fundraising and works on artist promotion.

 

 

Nantali Indogo

Radio host at CBC Montreal 

 

Nantali Indongo is the host of CBC Montreal’s provincial arts and culture program, The Bridge, Saturdays on CBC Radio One and arts contributor for CBC Montreal. She’s also member of Nomadic Massive, a multilingual hip hop group based in Montreal. A graduate of University of Ottawa and Humber College, Nantali has shared her knowledge of music and culture as a community educator and public speaker.

 

 

Eli Levison

Programming Coordinator for Mundial Montreal

 

Eli Levinson is a Montreal-based music and event producer. He is the programming coordinator for the Mundial Montreal event showcase, while wearing many hats (production, communications, administration) with Stonetree Records, Afrotronix and others, and organizing events in Montreal linking roots and electronic music.

 

 

Marc-André Mongrain

Founder and editor-in-chief of the cultural media outlet Sors-tu.ca and  president of the independent cultural media collective Culture Cible.

 

A music journalist for more than 15 years, he has worked for VOIR Gatineau/Ottawa and the Ottawa daily Le Droit. He can also be heard as a columnist on ICI Radio-Canada Première

 

 

Karim Blondy

Director of the audio program at Musitechnic

 

Karim Blondy began working as a sound technician in radio and theater in the United-States before attending Musitechnic in 1999. Since then, he has worked as a technician in the studio, on set, in post-production, as well as in live. In addition, Karim Blondy is a musician and has performed more than a hundred shows across Quebec with different bands. He has composed for other artists, for short films, as well as for web-series. After a dozen years spent at Radio-Canada as a sound recordist, he embarked on new challenges, including the recording of orchestral concerts and an audio application “Frequency Test” for iPhone. Fascinated by history and sound recording, he wrote a book on microphones for Musitechnic as well as about fifty articles for the school’s website before leaving to work in architectural acoustics and then becoming head sound engineer for the City of Montreal. In recent years, Karim Blondy has recorded and mixed albums for artists of various styles: jazz, classical, pop and metal… Today Karim Blondy is the director of the audio program at Musitechnic.

Webdiffusion

Membres du jury

Demi-finales et Finale

Les Syli d’Or de la Musique du Monde provoque à chaque édition la révélation d’artistes de talents et confirme les dernières tendances des musiques du monde.

 

Pour déterminer les lauréats nous sommes heureux d’accueillir les membres d’un jury professionnel reconnus pour leur carrière et leurs compétences dans le milieu musical à différents niveaux  (programmateur, journalistes …)

A noter que lors des demi-finales et de la finale les votes du public sont combinés aux évaluations du jury professionnel.

 


 

Les membres du jury des demi-finales : 

 

Frédéric Cardin

Journaliste indépendant chez Pan M 360, média spécialisé dans la musique

 

Frédéric Cardin pratiquement élevé dans le magasin de disques de ses parents, Frédéric Cardin a eu beau faire des études en histoire et en science politique, la musique l’a rattrapé pour ne jamais le lâcher. Journaliste, animateur et réalisateur pendant de longues années à la chaîne musicale de Radio-Canada, Frédéric est aujourd’hui journaliste indépendant chez Pan M 360, le meilleur site musical du Québec(et de loin!). Il tripe très fort sur une large variété de genres musicaux, mais son coeur bat particulièrement pour le classique (de toutes les époques), les musiques de films épiques, le jazz, et toutes les ‘’musiques du monde’’ (terme honni, mais à défaut de plus précis, on fait avec). S’y greffent un méchant paquet de musiques alternatives (rock de chambre, électro, post-punk, krautrock, indie whatever, etc.) et un ensemble de styles vintage dont il ne se lasse jamais (la grande chanson française, la soul-funk des années 70, le folk 70-80, l’afro–beat classique, les trames sonores Blaxploitation (Yeaaaahhhh!!!), et tant d’autres). Dernièrement, Frédéric a été comblé en obtenant un poste de Conseiller principal au ministère de Patrimoine canadien. Ce qu’il y fait? Il donne de l’argent pour que la culture soit diffusée, vue, entendue! Le bonheur. Frédéric a déjà été membre du jury aux demi-finales des Sylis d’or à plusieurs reprises dans le passé. À chaque fois qu’on lui redemande, il dit oui sans hésiter. Comment refuser d’avoir du fun sans limites trois soirs de suite en sirotant un ou deux super cocktails Volcan du Balattou? Un petit Bloody aussi, pourquoi pas. Ses facultés de jugement n’en sont que plus aiguisées. Vive la musique, et surtout la fabuleuse scène ‘’world’’ de Montréal, l’une des plus riches en Amérique.

 

Jacob Edgar 

Chercheur en musique pour le label Putumayo World Music et directeur du label Cumbancha

 

Jacob Edgar est un ethnomusicologue, un producteur de musique et un explorateur mondial doté d’une curiosité insatiable pour les diverses façons dont les gens s’expriment à travers la musique. Edgar est le principal chercheur en musique pour le célèbre label Putumayo World Music, contribuant aux chansons et aux notes de pochette de plus de 300 collections Putumayo. En 2006, Edgar a fondé le label, l’éditeur de musique et l’agence de réservation de concerts Cumbancha, qui promeut certains des plus grands noms de la musique internationale. Edgar a animé Music Voyager, une série télévisée sur la musique et les voyages produite pour American Public Television et PBS. Conférencier et spécialiste culturel régulièrement invité à bord des croisières National Geographic/Lindblad Expeditions en Afrique de l’Ouest, en Amérique du Sud, dans les îles britanniques, au Cap-Vert, en Islande et dans de nombreuses autres destinations, Edgar organise des expériences musicales et des concerts avec des artistes de renommée mondiale dans des lieux intimes qui constituent une porte d’entrée unique dans la culture, l’histoire, la langue, voire l’âme même d’une communauté. Les voyages d’Edgar à la recherche de nouveaux talents l’ont conduit dans des villages isolés des Caraïbes, des boîtes de nuit parisiennes branchées, des écoles de samba brésiliennes, des jam-sessions indiennes, les studios d’enregistrement de La Havane et au-delà, lui offrant ainsi un accès aux coulisses de la musique du monde.

 

Carine Au Micro

Animatrice radio chez CKUT 

 

Chaque semaine, Carine présente l’émission Basa Basa sur CKUT Radio. Son émission présente l’Afrique comme le cœur et l’âme de la musique mondiale, tout en approfondissant les aspects de la vie et de la culture africaines : vous pouvez entendre tout ce qui concerne la politique, la poésie, les contes, la nourriture et tout ce qui a trait à la vie africaine pendant l’émission.

Carine au Micro est une artiste d’origine béninoise. Son intérêt pour la musique débute dès son jeune âge par le biais des ses parents.

Carine au Micro se lance dans l’aventure solo avec son premier EP en 2018. Intitulé O LA SI, c’est un disque riche qui oscille entre ses différentes émotions musicales : jazz, soul, gospel, r’n’b et bien sûr, musique africaine. Son opus parle de sa connexion avec son pays d’origine, mais aussi de l’amour, entre déceptions personnelles et vision optimiste de l’avenir.

 

 


 

Les membres du jury de la grande finale : 

 

Christelle Onomo Lopes

Directrice Consultante-Formatrice de Culture des Arts, l’Institut

 

En parallèle de sa carrière artistique (Kreesoul music), Christelle est consultante et formatrice en gestion artistique, culturelle et événementielle.

Sa mission est de favoriser le renforcement des compétences des artistes pour qu’ils puissent mieux gérer leurs affaires. Avec 15 ans d’expérience, elle réalise des diagnostics de faisabilité de projets, anime des formations en planification stratégique (entre autres auprès du groupe 3737), effectue de la recherche de financement et travaille sur la promotion d’artistes. Son objectif est d’aider sa communauté artistique à être plus autonome

 

 

Nantali Indogo

Animatrice radio chez CBC Montréal 

 

Nantali Indongo est l’animatrice de l’émission provinciale sur les arts et la culture de CBC Montréal, The Bridge, diffusée les samedis sur CBC Radio One, et contributrice aux arts pour CBC Montréal. Elle est également membre de Nomadic Massive, un groupe de hip-hop multilingue basé à Montréal. Diplômée de l’Université d’Ottawa et du Humber College, Nantali a partagé ses connaissances de la musique et de la culture en tant qu’éducatrice communautaire et conférencière.

 

 

Eli Levison  

Coordonnateur de la programmation de l’événement Mundial Montréal

 

Eli Levinson est un producteur de musique et d’événements de Montréal. Il est le coordonnateur de la programmation de la vitrine de l’événement Mundial Montréal, tout en portant plusieurs chapeaux (production, communications, administration) avec Stonetree Records, Afrotronix et d’autres, et en organisant des événements à Montréal reliant la musique roots et la musique électronique.

 

 

Marc-André Mongrain

Fondateur et rédacteur en chef du média culturel Sors-tu.ca et président du collectif de médias culturels indépendants Culture Cible.

 

Journaliste musique depuis plus de 15 ans, il a fait ses classes au sein de VOIR Gatineau/Ottawa ainsi qu’au quotidien Le Droit, à Ottawa. On peut également l’entendre en tant que chroniqueur sur les ondes d’ICI Radio-Canada Première.

 

 

Karim Blondy

Directeur du programme audio à Musitechnic

 

Karim Blondy a commencé à travailler comme technicien de son à la radio et au théâtre aux États-Unis avant de suivre sa formation à Musitechnic en 1999. Depuis, il a travaillé comme technicien autant en studio, en plateau, en postproduction, qu’en “live”. De plus, Karim Blondy est musicien et a donné plus d’une centaine de spectacles à travers le Québec avec différents groupes. Il a composé pour d’autres artistes, pour des courts-métrages, ainsi que des web-séries. Après une douzaine d’années passées à Radio-Canada en tant que preneur de son, il se lance dans de nouveaux défis, notamment la captation de concerts orchestraux et une application audio « Frequency Test » pour iPhone. Fasciné par l’histoire et la prise de son, il a écrit un livre sur les microphones pour Musitechnic ainsi qu’une cinquantaine d’articles pour le site de l’école avant de partir travailler en acoustique architecturale puis de devenir chef sonorisateur pour la Ville de Montréal. Dans les dernières années, Karim Blondy a enregistré et mixé des albums pour des artistes de styles variés : jazz, classique, pop et métal… Karim Blondy est aujourd’hui directeur du programme audio à Musitechnic.